RSS Feed

Oven Baked Apple Donuts

What a long weekend!  It started early Friday, with getting everything ready for the fair and didn’t end till I popped one of these in my mouth on Sunday night.

The fair was a major success!  Despite the exorbitant prices and a mini meltdown early in the day by my son, there was fun and good food to be had all around.  Plus, it wasn’t too hot.

Saturday was just as fun with the beginning of soccer season starting bright and early for us at 8AM.  My oldest had a great time and a great game.  My four year old…I just don’t think soccer is her thing.  At one point, she picked up the ball and put it in front of the goal so she could kick it in.  It was hilarious!  Not for the action in and of itself, it was the look on her face when she did it.  She was fed up and you could tell.  Also, when we got home, she kept saying soccer was boring.  However, she still kept asking when her next game was, so we shall see.  We also stayed at the soccer fields to watch my nephews play.  The only tough part of the day, was reining in my two year old the entire time.  Afterwards, my friend came over and we caught up on Dr. Who and the season finale of Torchwood.  Once she left, it was back to work menu planning for the coming week.

Sunday was grocery shopping and catching up on dishes.  Finally, at the end of the night, I got to bake.  I was able to make some yummy stuff, covered in cinnamon sugar. Plus, I got to bake with apples.  

I told you I was gonna!  These little itty bitty donuts were just perfect.

I didn’t feel the need to change a thing.  I did add a bit more apple, but that was just because I had a few more cut up and I figured why not.  I also did mess up a bit on the method (I forgot to add the butter before the apple mixture, oops) but it all turned out alright.  The only thing that would have made this recipe better is if I had put the batter in the fridge overnight so I could have baked them first thing in the morning.  Then, they would have won an award for the Best Monday Morning Breakfast Ever!

Mmmm, cinnamon sugar…

Now, back to Dr. Who and Torchwood…

Lots of fans of the Doctor have issues with Amy and Rory, I am not one of those people.  Any man that waits two thousand years for his woman is a man I can get behind.  Of course he would still love Amy aged thirty five years more, was it even really a question?

The ending of Torchwood was kind of a bummer.  Poor Alexa Havens (former Babe from All My Children) died in the last episode and since I had heard they were going to do another season, I was really disappointed.  Not in the episode, however, because any fan of the non mortal Captain Jack Harkness can totally get behind the ending.  However, I read a review that said overall the season was a 44 minute episode stretched to 440 minutes.  Yeah, kinda.  Still excited that there will be a season five!

GeekyLink Alert!  Now that we are finished with Torchwood, my friend and I are going to watch Joss Whedon’s Firefly.  We both heard it was great.  She has seen Serenity (the Firefly movie) and is a big Buffy fan.  I am a Nathan Fillion fan (ever since One Life to Live), but hadn’t seen the series.  So I will let you know how that all goes, we have only seen the pilot so far.

Oven Baked Apple Donuts

from Chocolate Shavings

1/4 cup of lightly packed brown sugar
1/4 cup of white sugar
1 1/2 cups of bite size chunks of apple, peeled and cored
1 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour
1 3/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1 tsp nutmeg
1/3 cup of cold butter, cut into small pieces
1 egg
1/4 cup of milk

To Coat:
1/4 cup of butter, melted
1/3 cup of sugar
1 tsp cinnamon powder

Preheat your oven to 350F.

Whisk the flour, baking powder, sugars salt and and nutmeg in a bowl.

Add the cold chopped butter. Rub the pieces of butter with the flour mixture until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs.

In a separate bowl, beat the egg. Mix in the milk and fold in the chopped apples. Add the egg mixture to the flour mixture. Stir using a spatula or spoon making sure not to overmix. Place a spoonful of batter into each mold of a buttered mini muffin pan.

Bake for 15-18 minutes or until the donuts are just golden. Remove from the oven, unmold and lightly brush each donut with the melted butter. Dunk in a bowl with the sugar and cinnamon mixed in. Shake off excess sugar and serve immediately.

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

7 responses »

  1. and this is on my to-do list!

    Reply
  2. Oh my! I “Stumbled” your blog and everything looks so good! I am going to have to try and cook, or bake everything you’ve posted.

    Reply
  3. this look delicious, i can’t wait to try them! ps, i’m liking your theme. we have it in common!

    – katie at http://www.ohshineon.wordpress.com/

    Reply
  4. We love, love, love Firefly! I’ll bet you’ll like it.

    These apple donuts look awesome. I’ll definitely have to give them a try.

    Reply
    • You have no idea how happy I am that you are commenting on the “Nerdy” part of my post! Yup the apple donuts are pretty fabulous, and dangerous. Luckily there are only 24 and they are mini, divided by 5, they can only do so much damage. :)

      Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 928 other followers

