RSS Feed

Sundays with Joy/Chocolate Covered Coconut Macaroon Ice Cream (in a Blizzard Maker)

Posted on

Yeah, yeah, Monday again.  I am late because, well, this week turned out to be a lesson in using what you’ve got.  Last time I used my sister-in-laws ice cream maker but as of Thursday, she was out of town.  I couldn’t even go pick it up.  So Thursday and Friday were spent wondering just what I was going to do for this week’s Sundays with Joy since it was ice cream.

Then I did what any mom would do on Saturday.  I went to the mountains with my kids and spent the day.  My husband rarely has a Saturday off.  Especially one where we don’t have anything to do, so we pounced on our opportunity to spend the day together.  We got home before dark and I went out in search of my ingredients, still not knowing how I was going to make the ice cream.  I had to go to 3 stores (all my local ones, thankfully) but I found everything I needed.

Toasted Coconut

Then I decided to break out the mini guns.  Both my daughter’s received dessert treat makers for Christmas.  I decided I would try to use both.  After reading the instructions, it turned out one didn’t really “make” anything, it just kind of dispensed it.  It made its own stuff using their mix but it couldn’t to any freezing or churning.  So we were down to one.  The DQ Blizzard Maker.  And it worked!  Kind of.

Angela working as fast as she can and do I see it thickening?

Using their mix, I would imagine it would make something harder than soft serve because when I finally did it all the way right (the second batch) it went REALLY well.  Of course the downside is that you are hand cranking for twenty minutes (only 10 with their mix) and longer.  O yeah, and since it only holds as much as a Dixie cup, we had to do it THREE times!  We only did it 100% right once because we were running low on ice (that trip to the mountains the day before needed a cooler) and salt (each time takes 3/4 cup!).  I ended up freezing each batch together as we went and mixing in the coconut by hand at that point as well.  Once we were done (we still had some batter leftover but we were DONE with the hand crank) I let it set up (stirring every 30 minutes) and took my pictures before the sun went down.

Homemade Magic Shell anyone?

So I guess it worked, although it took all day.  I couldn’t have done it without my kids, which was kind of cool.  O and did I mention that the ice cream was friggin awesome?  Let’s not even talk about the homemade Magic Shell, which was frickin amazing and the easiest thing ever!  The best thing about using the Blizzard Maker and having to make small batches?  I ended up tasting it A LOT as the day went on, truly yummy!  As always, please buy her cookbook for the recipe and please check out Bakeaholic Mama’s site for all the other ladies’ attempts and adaptations!

The only picture where you can see some of the coconut in the ice cream.

My GeekyLink for today is Star Trek For Kids a list compiled by GeekMom of essential Star Trek episodes that you should watch with your kids from all the franchises.  Speaking only for the Star Trek: TNG list, I really liked it a lot and agreed with the picks (yay, The Offspring, my mom’s favorite and who doesn’t love The Measure Of A Man or Deja Q?).  However, just off the top of my head I thought of two she could add for Season 1 (since she only includes the two part pilot).  How about When The Bough Breaks, which shows that even in the future it is possible to take your kids for granted, and Hide and Q, for more fun with Q?

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

3 responses »

  1. Perfect post for these hot summer days. YUM!

    Reply
  2. That looks tasty! If you have a KitchenAid Bowl Mixer I highly recommend the ice cream attachment for it. It’s pricey, but worth it if you want to make a lot of homemade ice cream.

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 930 other followers

