RSS Feed

Sundays with Joy/Honey and Toasted Walnut Ice Cream with Almost Burnt Caramel Sauce

Honey Toasted Walnut Ice Cream with Almost Burnt Caramel Sauce

Well, the first thing I finished from this recipe was the caramel sauce.  My ice cream had to wait a little longer because I guess its not ideal to churn ice cream in the middle of the afternoon on a 90+ degree day, even if you do have your air conditioner on.  I cleaned everything up and decided to wait till this morning to churn my ice cream.  I just wanted to let you in on the fact that although I couldn’t eat my ice cream last night, I totally ate the caramel sauce.  First, off of my whisk and then later on some vanilla ice cream I had in the freezer.  Since it was the first time using this recipe and it didn’t seize up on me, I’d say it was a success.  Also, while trying to read the instructions and watch the sauce, I really thought I HAD burnt the caramel but nope I was able to take it just to the edge of burnt and add in the rest of the ingredients to have it come out exactly as Joy said.  I am absolutely going to make this caramel sauce again.  I really like the texture of it.  It pours great and is overall very velvety and creamy.  The one thing though, is it is supposed to be a salted caramel sauce and that was the one thing I thought there could have been more of in it.  I really can’t wait though.  This sauce makes me want to make a batch of Apple Cinnamon Cream Cheese Wontons just to dip into it.  It’s nice to have another foolproof recipe in the recipe arsenal.  There aren’t many in there.

Now on to the ice cream.

When I was growing up, my aunt would constantly put nuts in things where they weren’t necessary and where they weren’t supposed to be according to me and my sister.  However, after years of living life and tasting more and different things, I have come to the conclusion that my aunt was mostly right.  (Happy Aunt Sylvia?)  I still prefer my ambrosia salad nutless but in a brownie, or a cookie, on a cake and sometimes in ice cream, I can get down with a nut.

Honey and Toasted Walnut Ice Cream

The toasted walnuts and the honey flavor combination in this ice cream is spot on.  They go perfectly together.  It cannot be stated enough.  The caramel sauce went great with it too.  I actually used considerably less walnuts than Joy says to but I didn’t finish churning my entire ice cream recipe because I had already done two batches and my ice cream maker (and the day) wasn’t cool enough to keep going.  So with that and even taking into consideration extra walnuts on top, I still don’t think I would’ve used any more than 3/4 cup of walnuts.  If you’d like the recipe, please buy Joy’s cookbook.  I mean c’mon people,  we are halfway through the book now.  What are you waiting for?

My GeekyLink today is something pretty cool and for a good cause.  If names like Stan Lee, Zachary Levi, Chris Hardwick, Bobak Ferdowsi, Nathan Fillion, Felicia Day, Grant Imahara (…and the list goes on) mean anything to you, you might want to check out “Nerds Versus Aliens”.  It is a digital print that depicts some of the biggest celebrity nerds fighting aliens.  They are auctioning off massive canvas prints for Operation Smile during Comic Con this week and once the auction closes, smaller  sizes of the print will go on sale.  You can’t even see it in its entirety yet.  It won’t be revealed completely till later this week when the auction starts.  So far, I am really digging it.

Honey and Toasted Walnut Ice Cream with Almost Burnt Caramel Sauce

About Celina Atkinson

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

6 responses »

  1. this looks INCREDIBLE! you nailed both recipes!

    Reply
  2. oh My GAWD. Just . . . just hook it straight to my veins!!!

    Reply
  3. The ice cream sounds wonderful, love the photo with the dripping caramel. YUM!

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 904 other followers

