RSS Feed

Biscoff Pretzel Rice Krispie Treats

Biscoff Pretzel Rice Krispie Treats2

Even though I’m really late for two Sundays with Joy (I already made one twice and changed it a bit), I decided to bring you the recipe that I made last week first.  It’s THAT good.  Once I began putting these together though, the whining began…

The hubs complaining about why I don’t ever make plain rice krispie treats.  It has happened before and I’m sure it will happen again.  He knew not to complain too much but I still got a grumble.  Other krispie treats I’ve made didn’t make him change his mind but these he had to admit were “pretty good.”  High praise indeed.

Biscoff Pretzel Rice Krispie Treats1 via NerdyBaker.wordpress.com

I however, am a sucker for sweet and salty and that is exactly the combo that these deliver.  Beware, if you are a sucker like me, you might eat most of the pan before you remember school has started and you can send them with your 10 year old to share.  They were a big hit at middle school.  Even my Sarah, who is still so picky she won’t eat half the sweets I make, ate a few mini squares with delight.

My GeekyLink for today is once again Frakker Lacquer.  I’m gonna tell you a secret.  I’ve been a nail biter as long as I can remember.  Cut to now, just two months after they launched and I am 6 out of 8 shades in and I love it.  I really friggin don’t like makeup (nail polish included, except for the fact that it helps me not look old).  I always thought of it as a waste of time and something I’d just rather not do.  Frakker Lacquer helps me see the fun in it.  36 years in, I’d NEVER seen makeup as fun until now.  The shades mean something to me so they are fun for me to wear.  I love that if people see my nail polish, they’ll see purple but I see the color of Mace Windu’s light saber and it makes me smile.  Coming soon is the Classic Comics Collection exclusively at Pittsburgh Comicon September 27th to 29th AND a Winter is Coming Collection in early October AND a Doctor Who inspired collection coming up after that as well.  Also, it is simply a really great polish that is fairly resistant to chips.  I have three kids, bake and clean lots and can go over a week without a single chip.  I love this stuff and now I have nails enough to at least scratch my husband the next time he whines about plain rice krispie treats.

Biscoff Pretzel Rice Krispie Treats

Biscoff Pretzel Rice Krispie Treats

Ingredients

1 1/4 cup and 3/4 cup crushed pretzels (separated)

5 cups crispy rice cereal

6 cups mini marshmallows

1 stick (1/2 cup) unsalted butter

1/2 cup Biscoff spread

Method

Liberally grease an 8×8 pan and pour 3/4 cup crushed pretzels into the bottom and spread spread them outa bit along the bottom.  It doesn’t have to be perfect, they’ll move a bit anyway when you pour in the hot marshmallow mixture.

In a large saucepan, melt 1 stick of unsalted butter.  Once the butter is melted, add the marshmallows and Biscoff spread.  Stir until the mixture is smooth.  Remove from heat and add the cereal and the rest of the crushed pretzels.

Continue stirring till everything is coated completely.  Scoop the mixture out into the prepared pan and press the mixture down into the pan.  Let the mixture set and cool before slicing.

About Celina Atkinson

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

2 responses »

  1. What a great idea! Two of my kids absolutely love pretzels (the third will insist on regular rice krispies).

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 898 other followers

