RSS Feed

Here we go….Chocolate Peanut Butter Cake

  • Sooo, here we go!  My first post is unfortunately an old recipe (which is what happens when you start a blog in the middle of the night and don’t plan a thing out) but it is one of my favorites.  I got the idea from Chocolate Peanut Butter Cupcakes — Joy the Baker.  My chocolate cake however, is from a box.  What?!  You say.  How could you?!  You say.  Well, to be honest, so far I haven’t found THAT chocolate cake yet.  I did find THAT vanilla cake just recently but that is another post.  I used the Cake Mix Doctor :.  I LOVE that chocolate cake. You have to use buttermilk (but if you don’t have any, there are always The Best Buttermilk Substitutions — Joy the Baker.) more cocoa powder and yes, vanilla.  This cake always comes out perfect, round edges with a flat top, beautiful!  For the filling I halved the peanut butter buttercream in Joy’s cupcake recipe, then I added a chocolate ganache frosting. Lastly, was a sprinkle of cut up peanut butter cups.  Here is another shot of it.

Yummy, right?  Here is the recipe…

But wait, before we get there, here is where the nerdy comes in.  I have decided that I am going to post what I am going to call a GeekyLink on every post.  It was going to be a nice Hunger Games picture but I just got this Geek out / Globe.Faustus.2498.jpg (450×676) on Pinterest and I couldn’t resist.  So yes, my first GeekyLink is inevitably a Dr. Who reference.  It is Arthur Darville, AKA Rory Williams, AKA Rory Pond, AKA The Last Centurion.  Amy is a lucky lady!

Chocolate Peanut Butter Cake adapted from The Cake Doctor and Joy the Baker

1 package plain devil’s food cake mix

3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder

1 1/3 cups buttermilk

1/2 cup vegetable oil, such as canola, corn, safflower, soybean, or sunflower

3 large eggs

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Peanut Butter Buttercream

1 sticks unsalted butter, at room temperature

1/2 cup creamy peanut butter

1 1/2 to 2 cups powdered sugar (depending on your desired consistency)

1/2 tablespoon milk

Chocolate Ganache from MyRecipesTV

1 (12oz) package semisweet chocolate morsels

1/2 cup whipping cream

3 tablespoons butter

Place a rack in the center of the oven and preheat to 350°F.  Generously grease and flour two 9 inch round cake pans.

Place the mix, cocoa powder, buttermilk, oil, eggs, and vanilla in a large mixing bowl.  Blend with an electric mixer on low speed for one minute.  Scrape down the bowl then increase your mixer speed to medium and beat for 2 minutes more.  Divide the batter between the pans and smooth it out.  Bake for 28-30 minutes, until they just start to pull away from the sides of the pan.  Let them cool completely.

Meanwhile make your filling and frosting.

In the bowl of a stand mixer with a paddle attachment, beat butter and peanut butter until creamy and virtually no butter lumps remain.  Scrape down the bowl.  Add 1 1/2 cups of powdered sugar and beat on low for 1 minute.  Add milk and beat on medium high for 1 minute.  Add the rest of the powdered sugar if you’d like your filling  a bit thicker.

For the ganache, microwave semisweet chocolate morsels and whipping cream in a 2-quart microwave-safe bowl at medium (50%) power 2 to 3 minutes or until chocolate begins to melt.  You don’t want it to boil.  Then whisk until the chocolate is completely melted and the mixture is smooth. Whisk in butter until the butter is completely melted. Let it stand for 15-20 minutes.  You want it to be pourable but also to be able to stick to the sides of the cake.  Put your cake on a baking rack, with something under it to catch the ganache that falls through.  Then pour your ganache over your cake and smooth out the top and the sides, making sure that it is all covered.

Sprinkle liberally with chopped up peanut butter cups.  Maybe even up the sides!  Let it stand for one hour or put it in the fridge for at least 20 minutes before slicing.

So thanks for looking.  I hope you enjoy.  I am still learning so bear with me.

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Valentine’s Cake (Chocolate Cake with Whipped Cream, Strawberries, and Chocolate Ganache) « * NerdyBaker *

  2. Pingback: Cream Wafer Cookies (Henning’s Cookies) « * NerdyBaker *

  3. Chocolate, peanut butter and Rory Pond. Oh Yes. A kindred spirit.

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

