RSS Feed

Vanilla Peach Cupcakes with Whipped Cream and Torchwood

I am kinda bummed out that this next venture was not a complete success.  It was the whipped cream.  I love eating it.  I hate working with it.  But we will get to that later.  It looks great, right?That is always half the battle (although, I don’t have anything against food that looks like a mess and tastes awesome).  I had seen this recipe Week of Menus: Peach Vanilla Bean Bundt Cake with Peach Soaking Syrup: Sometimes it is too fast about a week ago and had been thinking about it ever since.  The problem was, I wasn’t in the mood for a bundtcake.  Also, if you look at all the pictures in that post, you can see that the layer of peaches almost wants to break away from the cake.  If I had made it that way, I am sure for me it would have.  I wanted to go another way.  So I thought, cupcakes.  I was just hoping the recipe would work out alright since I was changing it up.  Of course, the thought of frosting didn’t even enter into my head till after I was already on my way to the store with no way to look up a frosting recipe.  I just thought “peaches and creme”.  We did have some success, the cupcakes were awesome!  I was worried that mixing in the peaches altogether instead of layering it in the cup was going to be a mistake and I was worried about the amount of peaches I was supposed to put in it, I was wrong on both counts.  Mixing them in entirely was the right thing to do (pat myself on the back) and I should have put in about a half cup more of peaches because I went about 1/4 cup shy of what the recipe stated (o well).  Biting into them and getting a peach nugget was the best part!  The soaking syrup was great and there was plenty.  I should have stopped there.

Check out the vanilla flecks and peachy bits!

To be honest, it is just probably that I don’t know what I am doing when it comes to whipped cream.  Yes, the best advice you can give someone when making whipped cream is to CHILL EVERYTHING.  As in the bowl, whisk and this recipe I used yesterday called for me to mix the ingredients in the bowl and chill it all together.  That is all fine and good, I can make whipped cream but my issue is, you can’t leave it out if it is too warm and you don’t want it to get a funky skin on it if you have it in the fridge for too long.  Plus, if it is in the fridge on your cupcakes then your cupcakes will get hard.  My advice, and what I am doing now, is putting them in the fridge and then bringing them up to room temperature before you eat it.  Just don’t wait to long to eat them.  Also, FYI this whipped cream recipe was supposed to hold well in the fridge (AKA no funky skin) and appears to be working.  If I had it to do over again I think I would have made loaf cakes, made extra soaking syrup so I would have enough to put on top of the cake and more to drizzle on after slicing and then whipped cream on top of the slices.  I guess you could do the same with a bundt but I just wasn’t feeling it.  Either way, mix the peaches throughout the entire batter.

I did all this just before my friend Jennifer came over to watch Torchwood with me yesterday.  We had three episodes to catch up on and to be honest, I was getting a little worried because it had just been okay so far this season.  There are only supposed to be about 10 episodes and with four episodes under our belt and me being underwhelmed thus far I was wondering if Captain Jack could get it back on track.  Episode 5, eh.  By episode 6 we were screaming at the TV and with episode 7 it was so way back on track it wasn’t even funny.  We were starting to understand why (and this was total speculation on our part because we don’t know when in Captain Jack’s timeline this all went down) he was such a jerk to Ianto for so long before, well, before he wasn’t anymore.  Also this episode, he mentioned The Doctor and that is always awesome for a Whovian.  Speaking of The Doctor, he comes back this weekend!  But my GeekyLink(s) I still reserved for Torchwood.  The first is to show everyone how super hot Captain Jack Harkness is captain jack harkness – Google Images and the second is to show you what living forever does to a person +SPOILERS+ Cptn. Jack Harkness by ~Izzyv1o on deviantART.  Also, and really, if you ever watched Star Trek in any incarnation, watched Star Wars, like Sci Fi in any way shape or form, watch Dr. Who!  You will not be disappointed.  And Jen got some cupcakes to take home!

I hope you enjoy.  I am serious about Dr. Who.  My next post hopefully will be my birthday cake!  I want to do a spice cake with a banana cream filling with a caramel buttercream.  Fingers crossed, I hope it goes well.  My planned cake didn’t go well last year but I ended up with that Chocolate Peanut Butter Cake so it wasn’t all bad.  Please leave comments.  Also, check out my Flickr stream for more photos of the Vanilla Peach Cupcakes. Thanks!

Vanilla Peach Cupcakes with Whipped Cream adapted from Week of Menus at Blogspot.com

Makes 24 cupcakes

Cake

3 cups all-purpose flour
½ teaspoon baking powder
½ teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon salt
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
1 ¾ cups granulated sugar
4 large eggs, room temperature
1 vanilla bean, split, seeds  (Cost Plus has reasonably priced vanilla beans)
1 cup sour cream
1 ½ cups diced fresh peaches

Syrup

⅓ cup fresh peach puree, strained
⅔ cup granulated sugar
1 tablespoon orange juice

Whipped Cream from Joy of Baking.com

2 cups heavy whipping cream
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
2 tablespoon granulated white sugar

Place rack in center of oven, and preheat oven to 350.

Whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a large bowl. Set aside.

Using either a stand mixer (paddle attachment) or a hand mixer, beat the butter at medium speed until creamy, about 2 minutes. Gradually add sugar and beat at medium-high speed until the mixture is light in texture and color, about 3 minutes. Beat in eggs one at a time, beating for 30 to 40 seconds after each addition. Scrape down sides of bowl as necessary. Beat in vanilla bean. At low speed, add flour mixture in three additions, alternating with sour cream.  Fold in the diced peaches.  Using an ice cream scoop, scoop batter into paper lined cupcake pans.  Bake cupcakes for 21-24 minutes, or until a tooth pick inserted in the center comes out clean. The cupcakes will still be a light color when they are done. Do not let them brown.

While cake is baking, make syrup. Combine peach puree, sugar, and orange juice in a small saucepan and cook over medium heat, stirring until the sugar dissolves, 3 to 4 minutes. Remove pan from heat. Using a pastry brush, dab syrup generously all over surface of the warm cupcakes, allowing it to soak into the cake before reapplying. I dabbed three times. Once just out of the oven, let cool for 10 minutes, removed from the pans, dabbed again, cooled another 5 minutes and dabbed again.  Make sure you get the bits of puree on there.  Yummy.  At this point, eat one and decide if you want to go any further.  Let the cake cool completely.

For the whipped cream, mix all your ingredients together in your mixing bowl until combined.  Cover and chill the bowl and wire whisk in the refrigerator for at least 30 minutes.  When chilled, beat the mixture until stiff peaks form.

 

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

Let me know your thoughts...

