RSS Feed

Cinnamon Blueberry Cookies with Cream Cheese

Dang it is hot!

Maybe that is why I changed these cookies so much.  They were supposed to be Lemon Blueberry Cheesecake cookies.   Nice, crisp, clean summer flavors.  I had every intention of making them.  I bought lemons and everything!  The cheesecake part started me thinking a bit about fall, though.  We have had a mild summer here in So Cal for the most part but, around my birthday and just this past week, it has been scorching.  I just want the summer to be over and fall to be here.  So I decided to change it up a bit.  To be honest, I wasn’t sure it would work.  I just tried my hardest, using all the baking skills I have learned so far.

It all turned out well!  Next time I might add more spice and you don’t really need the cream cheese, the cookie can stand on its own, but it is a nice little nugget to bite into, but so are the blueberries already.  This is one of those soft pillowy cookies that is almost like biting into a cake.  No crunch.  I did miss that a little, so I added a bit of cinnamon sugar immediately after they were baked and that helped.

{Note, if adding cinnamon sugar, add it immediately after baking not before.  It just won’t be the same, the cookie is soft and will just absorb the sugar, not let it stay crunchy and crystallized.}

I really want to try it with diced apples (Apple Cheesecake Cookies anyone?)!  I want to try LOTS of recipes with apples.  I want to try LOTS of recipes with these flavors.  I want to be able to bake, but it is just so dang hot!  To be fair, I did bake these yesterday in the scorching heat but I want to be able to bake and still be relatively comfortable.

It is supposed to cool down from this weekend till the middle of the week.  I can’t wait!  I am so excited!  I am also excited because I get to go to the fair with my husband and kids later today.  Then, tomorrow is the first game of the soccer season for my oldest AND the first game ever for my four year old, yay!

Sunday, I am baking.

My GeekyLink is something I wish I could have shared on my first post.  I just found it on The Nerdist website this week.  Yes, I am still actively trying to get you to watch Dr. Who.  This trailer Three Doctors, One Trailer shows all of the Doctors since the series came back: Christopher Eccleston, David Tennant, and of course, the current Doctor, Matt Smith.  I really like it but I do think it is a bit Eccleston heavy (and a bit Tennant lacking) considering he was only the Doctor for one season, but I figure, he WAS the first new Doctor so he is kind of important.  Don’t forget The Girl Who Waited is coming up on Saturday.

Cinnamon Blueberry Cookies with Cream Cheese

Adapted from hotpolkadot.com

Makes about 18 cookies

1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temperature

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1/4 cup light brown sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 egg

1 1/2 cups flour

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 freshly grated nutmeg

1 heaping tablespoon yogurt

1/2 cup blueberries

1/4 package cream cheese, cut into 1 teapsoon cubes (optional)

either sugar or a blend of cinnamon sugar for sprinkling (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and position a rack in the center.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

In the bowl of an electric mixer with a paddle attachment, cream together the butter and sugars until it is light and fluffy.  Blend in the vanilla and egg.

In a separate bowl, whisk together the baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, and flour.  Mix half of the flour mixture into the wet ingredients.  Mix in the yogurt and blend, then mix in the rest of the flour mixture.  Gently fold in the blueberries so as not to burst any.  Refrigerate the dough for about 15-20 minutes to help make it stiff enough to roll.

For each cookie, roll 1 heaping tablespoon of dough into a ball then flatten it slightly into a disc shape.  Place cream cheese cube into the center and form the dough around it creating a ball again.  Bake them for about 10-14 minutes until the edges brown slightly.   Immediately, sprinkle with sugar.

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

2 responses »

  1. They look yummy! If I had a oven that actually worked I would try this out!

    Reply
    • Bummer, well, just keep it in mind when everything is up and running right again. Ovens can be tricky, mine now even, I usually have to bake things a bit longer but when I allow for that when I am setting a timer, then everything overcooks!

      Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

