RSS Feed

Ham and Cheese Pull Apart Party Bread

Do you see this bread?  This is for real and I made it.  I have had two baking fails this week and looking at this beautiful and awesome bread makes it all worthwhile.  This bread tastes as good as it looks and it is just as fun to eat.  OK, I’ll admit it, it is a bit of work.

The funky butter mixture that you mix into your dough.

Mostly it just takes awhile, and it really isn’t that complicated if you take your time.  The first time I made this was last year for the Superbowl and I was under a time crunch, it was my first time, and I messed up but I still was able to finish it in time for the party.

I have to credit my father in law with the idea for the perfect condiment to go with this bread.  He thought it would be great to slice it open and spread mustard on it and really, that takes it to another level.  When I made it to watch the Emmys with my friend, we used the mustard as a dipping sauce and it was sooo good!  I highly recommend it.  Geez, I guess you could even make a sandwich with one of the rolls, which I hadn’t even thought of since I consider each roll as its own sandwich, but I bet that would be crazy awesome!

Doesn't it look like a pretty dough, waiting for its second rise?

I got this recipe from Cookingbread.com.  It is a really great site and you can even view some recipes as tutorials with step by step instructions that can be very helpful.  The only problem is that you can’t click on the pictures and make them bigger, which, when attempting a complicated recipe like this could be very useful.  They have some version of every kind of recipe for bread you could ever want.

Rolled out and sliced into sections with cheese spread on every other one.

This bread is flaky, buttery, and cheesy, what else is there?

For my next post, I hope to bring you something sweet but as I said before, that whole side of my baking hasn’t been going well for the past week.  We’ll see how it goes.

Rolled up and ready for eggwash, shredded cheese, and final rise.

Thrilled about my GeekyLink for this week and I actually have Kevin Smith to thank for it.  I follow him on Twitter and I am a big fan of his SModcast network.  Anyways, he tweeted something to this guy, basically saying that his daughter is a Whovian because of this guy’s album.  For anyone who doesn’t know or didn’t figure it out, a Whovian is a Dr. Who fan.  This guy, Charlie McDonnell, has a band called Chameleon Circuit and yes, oh yes, they make Dr. Who music!  It is decent music too!  I wasn’t expecting much.  I have heard sci-fi fan music before (yikes!) so their albums, that you can hear in their entirety on the website, were a real treat.  Some songs are better than others because all of the band members take turns writing and singing the songs.  I haven’t downloaded anything yet because I haven’t listened to them all but I am sure their song called “Mr. Pond” will be one of them.  Rory Williams is my hero!

One last picture before the recipe…

Just before it goes into the oven.

Ham and Cheese Pull Apart Party Bread

From Cookingbread.com Recipes: Ham and Cheese Bread.

Ingredients

1 cup scalded milk

3 teaspoons instant yeast

2 cups bread flour + 2-2 1/2 cups more

1/4 cup butter

2 tablespoons sugar

1 teaspoon salt

2 large eggs

1 cup diced ham

1 package Boursin, Alouette, or Rondelé cheese

splash of oil

sprinkle of cornmeal

1 egg white

1/2 cup cheddar cheese

1/2 cup monterey jack cheese

Method

Pour your milk into a saucepan and scald, do not allow the milk to come to a boil.  Pour the scalded milk into a large bowl and allow to cool to 105°.  Add in 1 cup of bread flour and mix till smooth.  Next, add in your yeast and another cup of bread flour.  Mix with a wooden spoon.  The dough will be firm.  Cover with plastic wrap and allow to rest for 1 hour in a warm place.

Just before the dough is ready, mix your butter, sugar, and salt together in a bowl.  Using your mixer, beat the mixture on high speed until fluffy.  Add in your eggs and continue to mix together for another few minutes.  Be sure to scrape the sides of the bowl a few times.

Add the butter mixture to the dough and mix until smooth.  Add in another cup of bread flour and mix.  Add a little flour to a flat surface and continue you add in the rest of the flour.  Knead for 8 minutes.  You may or may not need all the flour.  You want the dough to be a little on the sticky side but not sticking to the table.  After kneading for 8 minutes add in the diced ham and knead till all the ham is well distributed throughout the dough.

Add a little oil to the bowl (I used olive oil and the same bowl I mixed it in) and place the kneaded dough into the bowl and turn over till you have a very light coating on all sides of the dough.  Cover with plastic wrap and allow to rest for 1 hour or till double in bulk.

After the dough has risen, place onto a flat surface.  Roll out the dough into an 18 inch circle (never measured just rolled it out till it looked big enough and not too thin).  Place a small cup (shot glass works great) onto the middle of the dough.  Use a pizza cutter and cut the dough into four equal slices.  Now cut each of those slices into five more slices (this is probably the trickiest part).  Now, spread the Boursin cheese onto every other slice.  Then take the non cheese slices and place them on top of the slices that have cheese.  Give each of these slices three twists.  Once they are all twisted, roll the first twist from the side and place onto the middle of the dough.  Now, continue with all the pieces till they are all rolled together.

Place a piece of parchment paper onto a cookie sheet and dust lightly with cornmeal.  Place the loaf onto the parchment paper.  This is another tricky part, you may need an extra set of hands to do this easily.  Placing the cookie sheet as close as possible also helps.

Take one egg white and beat it with a wisk till foamy and spread just the foam onto the top of the loaf.  Sprinkle the monterey and cheddar cheese on top.  Cover with plastic wrap and allow to rest for 1 hour.

Bake in a preheated 350° oven for 30-35 minutes.  The loaf should sound hollow when tapped on the bottom.  Place onto a wire rack and cool.

Awesome plain or with mustard!

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Thanksgiving and the Least Baking Fails Ever « * NerdyBaker *

  2. No words could describe how much I want that. In my mouth. RIGHT NOW.
    Found your blog via stumble, looking forward to more posts. 🙂

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

