RSS Feed

Pull Apart Cheesy Herb Bread

The weather was getting cold this week and I just really wanted some bread in the oven.  It was as simple as that.  I had several recipes on deck but this one cut in line simply for having yeast in it.  Also, I finally restarted my sourdough starter!  I cannot wait to have me some homemade sourdough.  If all goes well I will share the whole process, but if you cannot wait please check out where I learned on Joy the Baker.

Rolled out ball with herbs and cheese.

Otherwise, everything is the same.  The lights still aren’t fixed and my husband starts his work week again tonight so I guess that is another week I’ll be waiting unless I get frustrated enough and try to fix it myself.  It might happen but I am kinda busy this weekend.  I made a cake this week for a cakewalk that they are having at my nephews’ Family Fun Day at school and I am going to take my girls to enjoy the festivities later today.

Made into pockets!

That is if they don’t drive me crazy first.  It amazes me how renewed and energized I feel pretty much every morning or at least a good three times a week and how quickly the kids just suck it all out of me.  Really, I would be done and finished with this post over half an hour ago if my youngest daughter, Sarah, didn’t keep chasing the kitten around and if my youngest, Robert, didn’t keep screaming when I have to keep him quiet so daddy can sleep because he has to work later.  Angela, my oldest, is keeping to herself right now.  Did I mention she is really smart?

Shove those pockets in there and make them fit!

My husband always says that it is my baking and/or blogging that gets me all stressed out and frustrated but I point out that when I am home alone baking or baking late at night, I am as happy as a clam and baking is as cathartic for me as ever and totally relaxing.  I don’t even mind doing a mound of dishes if I get something really tasty and pretty out of it.  It is when life happens all around me and I just can’t keep up or keep it all straight, that is when I go a little batty.

All egg washed up, with extra cheese, ready for the oven.

Anyways, the kids have calmed down a bit so I’d better hurry up and tell you about this bread.  The original recipe calls for fresh dill and parsley but I didn’t have any so I used dry.  It is too expensive to buy herbs too often, especially when they go bad so soon (we are starting to grow some but I only have basil so far).  After baking, I still would have used a smidge less and I did adjust the amount in the recipe.  It wasn’t that easy to pull apart, so it is up to you if that is how you want to eat it.  It might have been easier if I hadn’t added the extra cheese on top, but I wanted the extra cheese on top so there.  Enjoy!

See, came right out!

GeekyLink this week I got was posted on the The Nerdist website the other day “Doctor Who” Series 6 in 89 Seconds.  Chris Hardwick wrote a book coming out soon called the The Nerdist Way and I enjoy the podcast and the site so much that I just might actually get it.

Pull Apart Cheesy Herb Bread

adapted from A little bit of everything

Ingredients

1 package (2 1/4 teaspoons) dry yeast

1 1/2 cup lukewarm milk (around 105°)

1 teaspoon salt

4 cups all purpose flour

3/4-1 cup shredded cheddar cheese (I used a mix of cheddar and jack)

1 teaspoon dill

1 heaping teaspoon parsley

butter (optional)

1 egg for brushing

Method

In your mixer bowl, mix the yeast with a little milk with a spatula.  When the yeast has dissolved, pour in the rest of the milk.

Slowly add the flour, mixing with your dough hook until the dough comes clean from the sides of the bowl.

Place the dough into a greased bowl and leave to rest at room temperature until it doubles in volume or about one hour.

When the dough is risen, divide it into 10-12 balls and flatten them.

Preheat oven to 375°.

Make the filling by mixing the shredded cheese and the dried herbs.  Spread a teeny amount of butter on the dough.  Place about 1-2 tablespoons of the herb-cheese mixture onto the middle of the flattened dough.  Pull one edge of the dough to the other making a pocket.  Seal the pocket with a fork or your fingers and place it in a greased loaf pan.  Do the same with the rest.

Leave again to rest at room temperature.  When risen, brush with egg wash, sprinkle any remaining cheese on top if desired and bake in preheated oven for about 35-40 minutes.  Leave to cool for about 10 minutes and get it out of the pan.  I had to run my knife around the edge because of the cheese that I put on top but once I did that it released from the pan very nicely.  Enjoy!

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

10 responses »

  1. Pingback: I’d Like To Thank All The Little, Little, Little People (Who Live In My Head And Tell Me To Do Things) | The Eternal Loop

  2. Butter is a must. I love the look of this. Def going to try this. Yum.

    Reply
  3. Sounds delicious – a must try – and I love working with yeast ! Once you get over that initial worry it’s like occupational therapy 🙂

    Reply
  4. Butter (optional)? If I’m sticking cheese in my bread, I’m most definitely putting in butter. I think it’s illegal not to. This looks delicious, can’t wait to try it for myself!

    Reply
  5. Nice! A tip I have for keeping herbs fresh is to freeze them. I’m not sure if it works for all kinds of herbs, but I like to buy fresh cilantro almost every week, even if I am not sure I will use it. But I start by keeping it in water in the fridge then freeze it before it starts getting limp. Also, fresh basil can keep for almost two weeks if you cut the stems and put them in water (switch the water out often) and leave it on the counter. It’s like having a nice smelling bouquet 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks for the tip. I have heard you can freeze herbs but do you just throw them in your recipe frozen then? I am not sure how that all works. If the basil grows well, I will totally put some on my counter! Also, I refuse to eat cilantro except for the yogurt cilantro dip at Trader Joe’s. That stuff is so addictive!

      Reply
      • I’m so disappointed about the lack of cilantro in your diet (guacamole???)….but I feel the same way you do about parsley so to each his/her own :-). As for cooking with frozem herbs, I do just throw them in frozen, but that is usually for cooking, not sure how it would work for baking since that could upset the moisture content balance. I guess you could use slightly less liquid to offset the ice that gets introduced with frozen herbs….so there’s my 2 cents 🙂

        Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

