RSS Feed

Chocolate, Caramel, Peanut Butter and Pretzel Cookies

I got the idea for these cookies from Sugar Cooking.  I thought, wow these are kind of like a Take 5 candy bar.  I was going to make them as is but the more I thought about it, I realized they were missing something…caramel.  There are also no peanuts in this cookie and I know a Take 5 has peanuts and peanut butter but the peanut butter chips will have to do for both.  Plus, how many other things can I stuff into this cookie?

This many!

If you don’t want to deal with cutting up the caramel, I suppose you could use toffee chips to get that flavor but you won’t get the chewy.  Let me tell you, that chewy is what keeps you coming back for more.  I ate way too many of these.  The crunchy, salty, chocolaty, peanut buttery elements don’t hurt either, let me tell you.  But oh, the chewy!

My sister even liked these cookies and she is one of the most picky people I know.  I didn’t even think she would try it just because of all the different elements.  She, just like my husband, doesn’t pull any punches when it comes to the stuff I cook or bake so when they like it, I know it is good.

The two most important things about this recipe are to a) chill your dough and b) let your cookies cool on the cookie sheet till you can take them off cleanly or this…will happen.

Follow those two rules and you shouldn’t have any problems and you will be thrilled with the results.

My GeekyLink for this week is Blogtor Who.  They have a Doctor Who podcast and they even did a podcast for Torchwood: Miracle Day.  The funny thing is, one of the commentators just recently started watching Doctor Who.  Sacrilege for someone doing a podcast about it I know, but it is awesome because now they are starting over, podcasting the Series (Season) 1 Doctor Who episodes with Christopher Eccleston aka The Ninth Doctor.  They put a new one up every Saturday!  Seeing as you can get those episodes on Netflix, why not follow along?

Chocolate, Caramel, Peanut Butter and Pretzel Cookies

adapted from Sugar Cooking

Ingredients

2 1/2 cups flour + 2 tablespoons

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1 cup butter

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla

2 eggs

3/4 cup milk chocolate chips

3/4 cup peanut butter chips

3/4 cup broken up pretzel pieces

3/4 cup caramels (I used Werther’s) cut up into about 6 pieces each (you can also use caramel bits but I prefer the cut up caramels)

Method

In a medium bowl, sift together the flour baking soda, and salt.  Set aside.

In a larger bowl, beat the butter and sugars together on medium speed until light and fluffy.  Add vanilla and eggs, beat well.  When finished, scrape down the sides of the bowl.

Add in the sifted flour mixture a little at a time until completely incorporated.  Stir in the chocolate chips, peanut butter chips, caramel bits, and pretzel pieces.  Refrigerate for at least an hour.

Preheat oven to 350°.  Line baking sheets with parchment paper.  Scoop out tablespoonfuls of the dough and place about 2 inches apart.  Bake for 10-12 minutes.  Sprinkle with kosher salt.

Allow cookies to cool on baking sheet till no longer sticking to parchment (about 8-10 minutes).

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

8 responses »

  1. That is a nice post. Thanks for sharing. Smilee

    Reply
  2. Pingback: My Six Hours at Gallifrey One | NerdyBaker

  3. Im so happy I came across this post! A bunch of my friends are having a cookie baking party (i donno never been to one) lol and I wanted to make a cookie that no one would think to make!!! PERFECT! totally saved me on looking for some boring recipe!

    Reply
  4. I’m not going to lie, when my cookies break, I consider it an excuse to eat them all. Also, I’m so glad you mentioned Take 5 bars. I was so obsessed with those in college. I can’t wait to try these 🙂

    Reply
  5. Those cookies look amazing! Take 5 is one of my absolute favorite candy bars and these seem to mimic them quite awesomely. Love the photo of all the pretzel bits and caramel in the bowl. I could eat that right there. The pinch of salt on top is a nice touch, too.

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

