RSS Feed

Applesauce Oatmeal Cookies and Trek Nation

To call these cookies simply Applesauce Oatmeal Cookies, is really just wrong.  These cookies are infinitely adaptable and I love them, not only for that reason but that they are, especially this time of year, mostly guilt free, just 1/2 cup of sugar and 1/3 cup of butter.  You would think a guilt free cookie might turn kids off but my eight year old loves them.  She has been asking me to make them.  Unfortunately, I wanted to jazz them up a bit but she wasn’t having any of it.  So I made half for her with raisins (yummy, but boring) and half for me with craisins, semi-sweet chocolate chips (they now have dark chocolate chips which would be awesome in this but I didn’t have any on hand), and almonds.  O man, I couldn’t be happier with my jazzed up cookies and she was so excited when she came home from school and the cookies that she had been asking for were waiting for her.

Angela's batter, with just raisins

I can’t apologize enough for not posting more.  I know everybody is just as swamped as I am right now but I don’t want to post things that I just cook or bake.  I mostly want to post stuff that I cook or bake FOR YOU, so that takes a bit more time.  This weekend I hope to post a recap of some of the stuff I made for Thanksgiving and the Saturday following for which I baked some stuff up for my Aunt’s and Grandma’s birthdays.  I don’t think I’ll be posting recipes though, just pictures and links.  We’ll see…

They bake up so nice and clean and come off the pan so easily.

If you live out in Southern California you know that the last few days have been windy (to say the least).  Some of you may not know that my husband is a truck driver and he works nights (when the wind likes to blow harder).  The first night it was so bad that I couldn’t sleep.  I had major anxiety about him driving.  When he got home he says, “What is the worst that could happen, I tip over.”  I said, “OK, I guess you are right, but what if you take the mountain?” (He likes to take the Big Bear route.)  He says, “I did.”  Well, if he tipped over while driving a mountain route, that would be bad, right?  Which is precisely why I couldn’t sleep so I stayed up to watch Trek Nation, which is my GeekyLink for this week.  It was on the Science Channel and will be on twice more this weekend.  If you haven’t seen it, I highly recommend it.  Mostly, it made me want to expose my Angela to Star Trek: The Next Generation.  It is streaming on Netflix and she loves Doctor Who and Harry Potter and doesn’t mind watching Fringe.  Growing up it was sort of a big deal for me.  My brother and sister and I would watch it together and even my mom liked it too.  I just would like to share that whole history and future with her, I think she would dig it.

Applesauce Oatmeal Cookies

adapted from Allrecipes.com

Ingredients

1 1/4 cup flour (I used a mix of white whole wheat and all-purpose)

1 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

2 teaspoons cinnamon

1/3 cup butter, softened

1/2 cup packed dark brown sugar (you can use light, but I was really glad I had the dark on hand, I do think it made a difference)

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 cup applesauce

1 1/4 cups rolled oats (old fashioned, not quick cooking)

Mix ins

I would say you could add a cup or a little more of mix ins.  Usually I use…

1 cup raisins

For this recipe I used…

1/3 cup craisins

1/3 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips (please someone use dark chocolate and tell me how they are!)

1/3 cup coarsely chopped almonds

Method

Preheat oven to 375°.

In a small bowl add all of the dry ingredients except for oats and set aside.

In a mixer, beat butter and sugar till creamy.  Scrape the sides of the bowl and add the egg, vanilla, and applesauce.  Mix till combined.

Add the dry ingredients a little at a time until completely incorporated.

Stir in oats.  Then stir in your mix ins.

Scoop out onto a cookie sheet.  You can pile them on because they pretty much won’t spread at all.  But be sure, and this is MOST IMPORTANT, to smoosh down your cookie after you have dropped it onto your sheet.  If you don’t, it won’t bake all the way through.  So remember, SMOOSH!

Bake from 12-14 minutes or until lightly browned.  Enjoy without the guilt!

These make a good “breakfast cookie” as well.

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Sundays with Joy / Oatmeal Raspberry Ginger Scones | NerdyBaker

Let me know your thoughts...

