RSS Feed

Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake (Robert’s Third Birthday Cake)

I guess I should tell you a little bit about my little man.  He is just so handsome and so happy and just so darn well, my husband calls him “Hurricane Bob”.  That seems to describe him pretty well.  He always puts the rest of us in a better mood whenever he is not exasperating us and although he is talking so much more lately, I do thank the Lord that he is not as verbal as his sisters are (or maybe he is and I just don’t notice over the sounds of the girls ALWAYS talking).  My dad and Robert are pretty close, maybe it is because he knows he is the last of his grandchildren or just because Robert is the kind of boy that he is.  Anyways, grandpa brought over the first cake at 11am on his birthday along with my nephews that grandpa was watching that day.  The kids had a blast.  Who wouldn’t with cake for brunch, ice cream cups (the sundae kind with a chocolate or strawberry swirl and come with a wooden spoon!), and a bit of Just Dance 3 thrown in for good measure?

Brown butter bits AND vanilla bean seeds, anyone?

So the bar was set pretty high.  I settled on my theme pretty easily but kind of winged it when it came to putting it together.  I settled on a brown butter cake and I changed out some of the sugar for brown sugar and I thought the taste really resembled a chocolate chip cookie (just don’t over bake it like I did, it was only for maybe two minutes and I knew when I should have taken it out but I left it in there anyways.  I need to listen to my instincts more).  The filling was really just a dryer version of an eggless chocolate chip cookie dough that was later mixed with the buttercream frosting when that was made.  The only thing I would have changed was that I went a little crazy with the chocolate chips throughout.  I put chocolate chips in all the components of the cake.  To be fair, I did have half empty bags to get rid of.  However, next time I will probably just put them in the filling and maybe in the frosting or just sprinkled on top (so it is easier to frost mostly).

Also, this was another one of the few things that I have made that my husband just wolfed down.  He came downstairs right before work.  We sang Happy Birthday and I thought he wouldn’t have time to eat it.  However, it turns out he didn’t need any.  Before everyone was finished being served and I sat down to eat mine, his was gone.  The first thing he ate when he got back in the morning?  More cake!

My new favorite buttercream!

My GeekyLink for this week is Spaced.  It is streaming now on Netflix.  I have heard great things about this show above and beyond the fact that it stars Simon Pegg and Nick Frost and is directed by Edgar Wright.  It was only on for two seasons (14 episodes total) so it is completely plausible that I can finish watching these sometime soon.  I only have four episodes of Firefly to go plus Serenity (which if any “nerdy” people have issue with Zack Efron, he was in an episode of Firefly so get over it, he is OK in my book).  I also want to finish the first season of Downton Abbey (which is So Soapy and Scandalous and I am only four episodes in, I love it and I need to get caught up so I can watch the second season which is just starting to air) as well but we will see how all that goes.

Chocolate chips everywhere!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake

recipe adapted from Always With Butter and Confessions of a Cookbook Queen

Ingredients

Cake

12 oz. (4 sticks) unsalted butter

1 tablespoon vanilla bean paste (I had just bought some so I was thrilled but you can also just use vanilla extract)

1 cup sugar

2/3 cup brown sugar

2 eggs

4 egg yolks (I used 3 eggs and 2 egg yolks but I think if I had used the 2 egg/4 egg yolk combo, the cake would have had a better texture)

2 3/4 cup flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

1 1/4 cups milk (I had some cream so I used about 1/4 cup of cream)

Cookie Dough for filling

1/4 cup softened butter

1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons brown sugar

2 teapsoons milk

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 cup flour

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/3 cup mini chocolate chips

1/2 cup frosting

Frosting 

This is my new favorite buttercream!  Also, I halved the recipe because it makes A LOT.  So depending on how much frosting you like it is perfectly fine to double it, but I thought half was plenty.

2 sticks salted butter

2 tablespoons heavy cream

1 teaspoon vanilla

4 cups powdered sugar

1/4 cup mini chocolate chips (optional)

Method

Brown the butter in a medium saucepan.  Pour into a bowl (including all your brown butter bits) and let chill for 1 hour.

Preheat your oven to 350°.  Butter and flour two 9 inch round cake pans.  In a small bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, and salt and set aside.

Beat brown butter and sugars for 4-5 minutes until fluffy and smooth.  Add in eggs and yolks, one at a time, beating till incorporated for each addition.  In alternating batches, slowly add in the flour mixture and the milk, beginning and ending with the flour.   Pour into pans and bake for 25- 30 minutes until center springs back to the touch, don’t overbake like I did.  (This is a really nice cake that just slides out of the pans, yay!)  Let cool completely.

For the cookie dough part of the frosting, cream butter and sugar and then add milk and vanilla.  Add in flour and salt and mix well.  Stir in chocolate chips then place in the fridge while making the rest of the frosting.

For the frosting, in the bowl of a mixer, beat butter, cream, and vanilla on medium low until smooth and well combined.  Slowly add powdered sugar.  Once powdered sugar is barely mixed in, increase speed to medium-high and beat for 2 minutes.  Do this!  Walk away, don’t think it is done when it is well incorporated.  You will LOVE the texture of this lovely whipped up buttercream!

Take 1/2 cup of the frosting and add to the cookie dough part of the frosting and use that for your filling.  Then feel free to add your mini chocolate chips to the rest of the frosting if you want.

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

9 responses »

  1. Pingback: My Six Hours at Gallifrey One | NerdyBaker

  2. Looking amazing!!! And love the nickname… too cute!

    Reply
  3. hurricane bob! ha!! great looking cake!! 🙂

    Reply
  4. Oh WOW! That cake looks phenomenal.

    Reply
  5. I gotta have some of this! yum! 😀

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

