RSS Feed

Crunchy Cornflake Cookies

Okay, these are the cookies I told you about after Christmas that my daughter’s 4th Grade class raved about.  I made them with butter that time and they tasted great but they did spread out a bit and looked not so great.  I have made these cookies over and over and over again trying to have these cookies look nice and thick while using butter and not the called for shortening (or even just less of it).  Sorry folks, it just wasn’t happening.  When I finally broke down and used just the shortening, it was like the recipe was telling me “See, I told ya!” (If you read that in the voice of Chip, from Beauty and the Beast, you are my new best friend).

Three add ins. What is it with me and the multiple add ins?

Really, the only thing I changed about these from the original recipe is that the original calls for you to dip the bottoms of the cooled cookies in melted white chocolate and I decided to just add in some white chocolate chips instead.  Hello, way easier and less time consuming and just as yummy.

They don’t look “bad” with butter, just different.

These cookies are crunchy because they have corn flakes in them.  The effect is so perfect that I am going to have to make more cookies with corn flakes or other crunchy things inside!  Also, this is a cookie that my pickiest, Sarah, and my second pickiest, my husband, really like.

My GeekyLink for this week is for those of you that like to act on your Geeky impulses.  My Twitter pal @LyssaPearl (who by the way, also has a blog that I love A is for Awesome) shared it a few weeks ago.  It is a 2012 calendar for some serious geeking out.

Crunchy Cornflake Cookies

barely adapted from Plain Chicken (a great site for all kinds of recipes)

Ingredients

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking soda

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup shortening

3/4 cup granulated sugar

3/4 cup packed brown sugar

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups uncooked regular oats (not instant or quick cooking)

1 1/2 cups cornflakes

1 cup white chocolate chips

Method

Whisk together flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt in a medium bowl until combined and set aside.

In another bowl, beat shortening at medium speed until creamy.  Gradually add sugars and beat until creamy and well combined.  Add your eggs and vanilla and beat well.  Gradually add your flour mixture and beat until just blended.  Stir in oats, cornflakes, and white chocolate chips until evenly distributed.

Drop your dough by heaping tablespoonfuls (or just use a handy dandy cookie scoop) onto parchment paper lined baking sheets and flatten your dough balls slightly.  Bake at 325° for 13-15 minutes.  Cool slightly on the baking sheet before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

If you do decide to use butter, I recommend refrigerating your dough for at least an hour before baking.

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

4 responses »

  1. I love these cookies! Yum!

    Reply
  2. These look so delicious – ILY cornflakes 😀
    And i bet they would taste great with a golden syrup glaze… wait you don’t eat cornflakes slathered and stuck together with syrup?
    Ooops… 🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

