RSS Feed

Justin’s Sandwich Rolls, First Attempt

My husband is very particular about his food.  I wouldn’t say picky, he will pretty much eat anything, but when he is in control of what he is eating (instead of me), things have to be just so.  I couldn’t get him to eat a brown rice and mushroom soup the other day, though, even though two of the three kids sitting at the table didn’t really want to eat it either and I was telling them they had to.  He said, “It just doesn’t look like something I would eat.”  Gee, thanks.  So instead of eating something healthy for dinner, he went to work hungry.  Whatever, it is his prerogative.

Risen, brushed with egg wash, ready for the oven!

For his lunch though, he needs my help and he takes it.  I tend not to make it very often and I sometimes feel bad about that but I do make sure that he has everything he needs. This consists of his granola bars, fruit snacks, some kind of fruit, the kind of pickles he likes, pudding (I like to make this at home and put it into a container but I have been slacking off), chips, and cheese, plus I got him to stop drinking soda during his lunch and just drink water.  Then there is his sandwich.  We have gone through all kinds of incarnations of his sandwich:  bologna, roast beef, turkey, ham, and he will even take a tuna or egg salad if I have made some.  We have gone through different condiments like mustard, mayo, brown mustard, and italian dressing and cheeses like American (I can’t get him to stop eating it), cheddar, swiss, provolone, and pepper-jack.  So after about two years of switching it up every few months, he decided his favorite and his standard would be ham and salami with provolone and italian dressing on a roll (God forbid he puts any sort of veggie on his sandwich).

His sandwich, we were out of provolone.

Rolls can be expensive.  If I can’t find a good deal, I can pay up to $3 for a pack of only six rolls.  Usually, I can get a pack of four sub rolls which he cuts in half to make eight for about $2.  Sometimes he complains about those, though, because they can be too thin widthwise or don’t cut in half that well and you are left with a little nub or two that you can’t really use for anything.  So in order to avoid this whole ordeal, I have recently been trying to make him sandwich rolls.  First, I tried a recipe for sourdough rolls, which really were too dense for a sandwich but were awesome rolls to eat.  I would share the recipe with you if I could find it (and I’d better because my sister really liked them and I am sure she will be asking for them again).  This was my first attempt in awhile.  It started out as a Whole Wheat Burger Bun but my husband is a bit averse to wheat breads (he just won’t eat healthy!) so I took out the wheat flour and subbed in bread flour to help make them lighter and fluffier.  It worked!  Except that after a few days he was digging out the middle and saying they were getting kind of dense.  I tried to explain that it is harder for the fresh baked stuff to keep but he said that if the grocery store can do it, so can I.  (Not sure if he was being a smart ass or supportive.)  Overall he wants it “softer, but not too soft.”  Great.

So beautiful! How could he reject them?

Whatever, so next I am going to make the rolls I made for Thanksgiving but just bigger.  Those are very soft.  We shall see…  Plus I promised you the recipe anyway so stay tuned.  Also, stay tuned for Whole Wheat Sourdough as well.  I made one last week and it was very nice but I used a white flour sponge and I want to try it with a whole wheat one and see if it turns out just as well.

Whole Wheat Sourdough

I have two GeekyLinks this week both having to do with the upcoming 50th Anniversary of Doctor Who and both equally awesome 48 years of Doctor Who adventures in less than 10 minutes and Doctor Who: “The First Question” – 50th Anniversary Trailer.

Sandwich Rolls

adapted from Krissy’s Creations

Ingredients

1/3 cup warm water (100°-110°)

1 package (or 2 1/4 teaspoons) active yeast

1 cup warm milk (100°-110°)

1 egg

2 teaspoons sugar

1 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 3/4 cups bread flour

2 cups all purpose flour

Cornmeal, for dusting the baking sheet

1 egg + 1 tablespoon water, for eggwash

Method

Place the water and yeast in a small bowl and stir to combine.  Let it sit for 5 minutes, until the yeast starts to bubble.

Place the milk and egg in the bowl of a stand mixer on low speed and combine.  Slowly pour in the sugar, salt, olive oil, and yeast mixture.

When incorporated, slowly add the bread flour and once completely mixed in, beat on medium-high speed for 30 seconds.  Add the all purpose flour 1/2 cup at a time, and beat until a dough begins to form. Change to the dough hook attachment and knead the dough until it becomes smooth and elastic, about 5 minutes.  If the dough becomes too sticky while kneading, add more flour, 1 tablespoon at a time.

Transfer the dough to a lightly oiled boil and cover with plastic wrap.  Place the dough in a warm place.  Allow the dough to rise until it has doubled in size, about 1 hour.

Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface.  Divide the dough in 8-10 equal pieces.  The original recipe was for Burger Buns and even if I was making burgers, I think 9 pieces would have made for a better size roll.  I think the 8 made just slightly too big rolls.  

Shape each piece into a round ball and transfer to a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and lightly sprinkled with cornmeal.  Place a clean towel over the baking sheet and allow the buns to rest for about 45 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 375°

In a small bowl, wisk together the egg and water to make your egg wash.  Gently brush the top of each roll with the egg wash.  Bake the buns until the tops turn golden brown, about 20 minutes.  Allow the buns to cool before slicing.  If you can…

This dough can also make great dinner rolls and I myself am guilty of warming one up (yup a great big one!) and spreading butter and jam on it and stuffing it in my face.

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

2 responses »

  1. Thanks for this recipe. I’ve tried making sandwich rolls before but they turned out hard as rocks. Ick. So, I will give this a try!

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

