RSS Feed

Nutella Chocolate Chip Hazelnut Banana Bread for World Nutella Day

I am here today to celebrate with you, no not the Superbowl, something much, much better.  It is February 5 and that means it is World Nutella Day!

Sara from Ms. Adventures in Italy and Michelle from Bleeding Espresso have hosted this event since 2007 to celebrate the chocolate hazelnutty goodness that is Nutella.  And O, it is SO GOOD.  I am relatively new to the pleasures of it.  I have probably only been eating it for about two years.  Last year, I followed World Nutella Day on Facebook and I was overwhelmed when World Nutella Day came along and I saw the myriad of things that you could make with it.  I was super bummed that I didn’t have anything to share or even if I did, that I couldn’t because I didn’t have a format to share it.  Also, this is the first time I have ever written a blog for an event like this.  I missed out on the Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap because I was a great big chicken.  I had only about two months of blogging under my belt and I was way intimidated.  I wasn’t going to let that happen again.  I knew this was coming up and I wasn’t going to miss it.

To be honest, this is actually my first time baking with it.  I am not sure if it is because I do just love the simple joy of Nutella spread on some wheat toast (sometimes with sliced bananas) and I kind of feel like baking with it might spoil that for me or because if I decide to bake with it that I will end up having to buy the double jumbo size jars at Costco and then end up not baking with it but just eating it!  Either way, I think I am just going to have to do it more.  I think next time I want to whip it into a frosting for something.  There really is SOOO much you could do and it all sounds fabulous so like them on Facebook or check out World Nutella Day in the next few days to get all the recipes and really, just get your Nutella on!

This is right before I realized that I forgot the eggs. Thank goodness I realized!

I decided to start simple and adapted a Peanut Butter Banana Bread from Joy the Baker (who else?).  I replaced the peanut butter for Nutella, added a little cocoa powder, added a bit of vanilla,  almost left out the eggs and then almost added too many, then of course, topped it off by adding chopped hazelnuts and mini chocolate chips.  Awesome!

The GeekyLinks for today are just a couple of nerdy posters.  I decided to keep it simple today.  First, some Batman and the history of the Batsuit (click on it to make it bigger) and then some Star Wars Movie Posters For Other Movies which speaks to the movie nerd in me.

Nutella Chocolate Chip Hazelnut Banana Bread

adapted from Joy the Baker

Ingredients

1 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup all-purpose flour (next time I will just use all whole wheat, it wasn’t too overwhelming)

1/4 cup ground flaxseed meal (I ground my own flaxseeds, Joy says you can omit it and the bread will still turn out but I really like the nuttiness it adds)

3/4 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1 tablespoon cocoa powder

1 1/2 cups mashed ripe bananas (this was 3 smallish ones for me)

1/3 cup plain fat free yogurt (I had to substitute sour cream because I was out of yogurt, this broke my heart because I just ran out of my fat free greek yogurt the day before)

1/3 cup Nutella

3 tablespoons melted butter

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

2 eggs

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup mini chocolate chips

1/2 cup chopped hazelnuts

Method

Place a rack in the center of the oven and preheat your oven to 350°.  Grease and flour a 9×5 inch loaf pan and set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk together the flours, flaxseed meal, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and cocoa powder.

Whisk together mashed bananas, yogurt, Nutella, vanilla, and melted butter.  Whisk in eggs and both sugars and mix until no sugar lumps remain.

Pour the wet ingredients into the bowl with the dry ingredients.  Fold together with a spatula until no more dry flour is visible.  Fold in the chocolate chips and hazelnuts.

Pour the batter into the prepared loaf pan and bake for 55-65 minutes or until a skewer inserted into the center comes out clean.  I had to bake mine for another 10 minutes, so to keep the top of the bread from burning, I placed a piece of tinfoil over the top of the bread.  DO NOT do this until you find that you may need to.  You may not need to.

Remove the bread from the oven and allow to cool in the pan for 20 minutes.  Then run a butter knife along the edges of the pan and invert the bread onto a wire rack to cool completely.

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

2 responses »

  1. This bread looks so amazing – I am actually dying here 😛
    I actually could eat it breakfast lunch and tea!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

