RSS Feed

Andes Mint Brownies and Cookies (and Fringe and Star Trek and Doctor Who)

O man, sometimes my husband’s job takes its toll.  Not just on him but on all of us as well.  He mostly works at night but one day of the week he works in the early evening and on his days off he tries to keep to his sleep schedule as much as possible while being awake with us in the afternoon, so basically his sleep patterns are all mixed up.

I would be fine with that.  I am a mom.  I get up with babies that need to be sleep trained or are sick, kids that need to get up for school, up early with three kids dressed and prepped for a random day at Disneyland or family function, and also on occasion try to stay up late and spend time with my husband.  When I am tired, I sleep.  He is not one of those people.  If he NEEDS to sleep, he feels the pressure of having to sleep and then he CAN’T sleep.  The weird hours he works just make it worse.  Some days it is not a problem, or mostly just a problem for me trying to keep the 3 and 4 year old as quiet as possible while he is sleeping.

Some days, the days that he can’t sleep, o geez, we are all in for it.  It will be quiet, for an hour or so and then he will come out of the bedroom to use the restroom.  Quiet for another hour and he will come down and get something to eat, saying that food will help.  Quiet for another hour, then just rail about how he is in for it and he will NEVER get to sleep.  At this point I know I am going to have to take my son with me to my daughters’ dance class (which I HATE because what is a 3 year old boy supposed to do in a confined space for 2 hours with limited distractions?), I know I am going to have to make his lunch, and feed him dinner after everyone else is finished.  It ends up being such a mess.  It has to be done, though.  I do feel bad for him but sometimes I feel like he makes it worse.  He claims this current schedule (his schedule also changes every 6 months!) is worse but actually I think he hasn’t had as many of these kind of days lately as he has in the past.  However, today is one of those days, ugh.

Overall this week has also been kind of weird (let’s not even talk about Valentine’s Day).  I usually have my kids chomping at the bit for the things I am baking.  This week was WAY different.  My nephew was the one that had asked for mint buttercream on his Despicable Me cupcakes, the cupcakes that my daughters wanted nothing to do with because of said (completely yummy!) buttercream.  No fun.  So I knew when I decided to use my Andes Baking Bits that I bought at Target about a month ago, that the bulk of these treats would be going to my sister’s house.  My baby boy had a couple of cookies and my husband sampled some brownies but my girls wanted nothing to do with them, I don’t know what their problem is.  As a mother and a baker, it is really disappointing.  Really? I can’t get you to eat a chocolate brownie or cookie, geesh!

Anyways, I was thrilled and happy with both.  If I had to pick a favorite though, it would have to be the cookie.  I adapted the recipe from one that called for peanut butter in it and replaced it with Nutella.  I just love the flavors of that cookie and it is a nice chewy cookie.

The plate that went to my sister's house.

I have a backup of GeekyLinks right now so you will get a few and also wanted to tell you about all the nerdy and exciting things that I have been doing lately.  First off, my Friday nights and Sunday lunches have just gotten FABULOUS!  I have been watching Fringe live on Fridays (as much as I can because Justin is trying to get out the door during the first 20 minutes and it is all “bye daddy” and “can you help me with my lunch”) and have been following along with The Fringe Podcast at the same time (Tweeting as well, whatever it takes to keep the show on the air!)  At the end of the show, you send in your Bunsen Burners (your ratings for the episode) and during the show you can try to figure out what the glyphs spell out.  Sundays, Clint and Darrell do the podcast live and you can chat and comment during it and sometimes they will ask the chat room questions and such.  If you sent them feedback about the show either Friday or Saturday, they may play it and comment on it during the feedback show immediately following the recap show.  It is a fun few hours if you are a fan of Fringe.

My other GeekyLinks just go to show how GREAT science fiction just goes together 10 actors with roles in both Doctor Who and Star Trek and Doctor Who/Star Trek – The Official Crossover.

Also, hopefully I will be able to go to this on Friday with my daughter who has the day off from school.

Andes Brownies

adapted from Ellie Krieger

Ingredients

Cooking spray

1/4 cup unsalted butter

4 ounces bittersweet chocolate

1 cup all purpose flour

1/3 cup cocoa powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

4 eggs

1 cup packed light brown sugar

1/2 cup non-fat Greek yogurt

1/4 cup melted unsalted butter, cooled

2 teaspoons vanilla

3/4 cup Andes baking bits + 1/4 cup for sprinkling on top

Method

Preheat the oven to 350°.  Spray a 9×13 inch baking dish with cooking spray.

Melt the chocolate  and 1/4 cup butter in a heatproof bowl over a small pot of simmering water, stirring occasionally. Make sure the bottom of the bowl does not touch the water.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, cocoa powder, salt and baking soda.

In a large bowl, whisk the eggs and brown sugar until smooth and then add the yogurt, butter, and vanilla and whisk until well combined.  Whisk in the melted chocolate mixture until blended, then add the dry ingredients and mix until just moistened.

Fold in 3/4 cup of Andes bits until completely mixed throughout.

Spread the batter in the baking dish and bake for 25-30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out with only a few moist crumbs.  Immediately sprinkle the last 1/4 cup of Andes on top so they can slightly melt on the top of the brownies.  Cool completely in the pan before slicing.

Chocolate Andes Cookies

adapted from The Girl Who Ate Everything

Ingredients

1 1/2 cup all purpose flour

1/2 cup cocoa

3/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened

1 1/2 cups sugar

1/2 cup Nutella

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

3/4 cup Andes baking bits + 1/4 cup extra for sprinkling on top

Method

Preheat oven to 350°

In a small bowl, whisk flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt together.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream butter, sugar and Nutella until light and fluffy.  Add eggs and vanilla and mix until well combined.

Slowly add flour mixture to the creamed ingredients mixing to combine and scraping down the bowl as necessary.

Stir in the 3/4 cup of Andes bits.  Roll cookie dough into 1 inch balls (or use a cookie scoop!) and place on a parchment lined baking sheet.  Bake for 10-12 minutes.  Immediately sprinkle a few of the remaining Andes bits on each cookie.  Cookies will be soft but will set up after cooling.  Place cookies on a rack to cool completely.  Makes about 3 dozen cookies.

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

4 responses »

  1. Thanks for the shout out! The Fringe fandom is a pretty awesome group of people. We’re glad to have you as a part of The Fringe Podcast community!

    Reply
  2. Thanks for the great links my friend – btw do you watch Benedict Cumberback in BBC’s Sherlock Holmes – ILY Benedict, Martin Freeman and Streven Moffat!
    And these brownies and cookies look super tasty as well 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru
    Latest: Healthiest Natural Sugars Muesli Bars

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

