RSS Feed

My Six Hours at Gallifrey One

No food today.

Actually that is a lie.

I made these cupcakes for my cousin’s 7th birthday (robot themed, right on).  The cupcakes were the cake I used for my Chocolate Cake with Strawberries and Chocolate Whipped Cream Frosting and the frosting is a basic buttercream but made using the method I used for my Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake.  They are decorated with Sixlets, silver sprinkles, and robot cupcake piks.  Also, I made these yesterday, I swear they are my favorite cookie ever if I do say so myself.

Now let’s get to the nerding out…

If some of you are less enthusiastic for the “nerdy” part of my blog and more interested in the “baker” part, feel free to skip this (if you don’t want to be AWESOME!) and wait till next week when I go to Pasadena for Joy the Baker’s first book signing!  Also, I do have a food post coming soon, I just had to tweak a recipe a bit before I posted it.  Then hopefully some good stuff from my Oscar party (I say party, it will be 3 of us plus my kids)!

For those of you that don’t know, Gallifrey One is a Doctor Who convention held in Los Angeles every year.  I had no intention of going.  It started on Friday but my daughter has school and dance.  That Saturday was a birthday party for a friend of my 4 year old and my husband was going to take the day off so we could hang out because our kids were going to spend the night at my uncle’s house.  Then Sunday was my cousin’s birthday party that I made the cupcakes for (and I had to make the cupcakes at some point during the weekend).  I just figured I would miss it again and besides, driving to L.A. can be a pain in the butt.

Then, early in the month, my daughter gave me a bunch of papers from school and one had the best reminder ever, NO SCHOOL on Friday, February 17!  I asked her if she was cool to skip dance that day even though it was their Valentine’s party but she didn’t hesitate, it was Doctor Who all the way!  I let the hubby know what was going on and he rolled his eyes but he didn’t say anything negative so that meant he was on board.  I asked my dad to watch the babies that day and it was all settled.  I was going to Gallifrey One!  I outlined a plan of attack for the whole thing by looking at times and events and such on the website.  I noticed lots of fun stuff that was happening in the evening that I couldn’t go to, cause I had to pick up my babies, but I wasn’t gonna get down because this was the coolest thing I have done in a long time AND I got to take my daughter.  Also, this was the perfect week for it because we had a bit of extra money and it wasn’t that expensive, only $40 for me and my daughter was free!  I saw that John de Lancie (Torchwood: Miracle Day, and yes totally Q from Star Trek: TNG) wouldn’t be there on Friday and found out from the Nerdist Podcast that Chris Hardwick and Matt Mira would be going but not till Sunday.  I just had to focus on who would be there and what panels I wanted to listen to and think about what stuff I wanted to buy.

Well, once we got there all that pretty much went out the window, in a good way.  First off, driving out there wasn’t too bad.  Plus, I bought the gas to drive out there the day before it started to spike, bonus!  We made it most of the way out there in perfect time but the last fifteen minutes stretched into about forty but at least I didn’t get lost.  We got a great parking spot, we walked in and saw the spectacle.  It was so exciting and we were both giddy!  We had to get in line for our tickets and badges.  I didn’t know going in that the point of these things was to get ribbons to the floor to put on your badges but I do now.  We only got two but I talked to the guy at the information booth and it seemed like the bulk of them for that day would be handed out for the events going down in the evening.  O well, we were happy with the two we had, one for filling out a survey and another for finishing a scavenger hunt, which I don’t think I could have finished without my daughter.

One downside, my daughter was a pill at the panels.  She just kept squirming and saying she was bored.  Luckily the next room over was playing episodes from Doctors 9 and 10 so she went and watched those.  I went to the Miracle or Mistake: Torchwood Miracle Day Review panel, which was hilarious in pointing out it’s flaws (of which there were quite a few) but still remembering why we love it so much and also pointing out what we would have liked to have seen but didn’t get a chance to.  After that we had lunch and did the bulk of our shopping and the scavenger hunt.  At 2:30 we had an appointment with Caitlin Blackwood (little Amelia Pond) for a picture.  I chose her because I was going with my daughter but if I was by myself I probably would have gone with Camille Coduri (Jackie Tyler).  She was more expensive, though, if I recall correctly, so maybe not.  What was cool though, is that we were first in line for Caitlyn and saw Camille as she was finishing and I got to take stalker pictures of her.  I felt bad but it was SO COOL, I couldn’t help myself!

I meant to go see the interview with Caitlin but I got engrossed in the Intro to the new fans into Classic Doctor Who panel.  It was really good, informative, and how much the panel loved Classic Who was palpable.  I always figured I would get around to classic episodes (streaming on Netflix) but this made me very excited for them and gave me a starting point!  We walked around a bit more after that and I even started to listen in on the More Magic of Doctor Who Music panel as Angela watched Rise of the Cybermen but much of the rest of what I wanted to see wouldn’t be for another hour or so and then the really fun stuff was after 8pm.  The only thing I missed but didn’t realize it at the time (there is A LOT going on all at once!) is that Paul Mcgann (the 8th doctor) was there and was giving autographs (the free but limited kind, it was a LONG line) and I wish I was aware of that because I might have gone.  Meeting a Doctor would have been pretty awesome!  I could’ve stayed later and the time in traffic would have been less but we would’ve been home much later and I wanted to see if I could pick up the kids and get them home in time to see Daddy before he went to work, so we left.  Ultimately, the trip home was almost three times as long as the trip there (rush hour, Friday night, holiday weekend) but I did manage to get off the freeway for a Krispy Kreme donut, dinner, and to show Angela where Back to the Future (on HBO nonstop this month so the kid was interested) was filmed (traffic side trips can be fun!).  Plus, I did make it home with all the kids in time to say goodbye to Daddy before he left for work.

Hopefully, next year I can go again and stay longer.  We shall see….

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

17 responses »

  1. Those are some fantastic looking cupcakes!!!!

    Reply
    • Thanks! They were so much fun to decorate too because my kids had spent the night at my Uncle’s and I got to frost and decorate UNINTERRUPTED! My Aunt made the cupcake picks. She had to make a lot of her own decorations because she couldn’t find robot themed stuff.

      Reply
  2. Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a comment. I love to bake and am happy to discover a fun baking site! Next time I’m going to make the all pink Mexican cookies, yum;-)

    Reply
  3. SO glad you found the “introducing new fans” panel useful–my friend and I were on it, and so nervous, since we were on with David Wise and Simon Guerrier!

    Glad you enjoyed the conference–it was my first since 1983!

    Lime

    Reply
    • First of all, let me freak out! Ahhh!!!! Second of all, yeah I really liked it, I thought about writing stuff down but once that thought occurred, so much had been said already! So I am just hoping that when I get to Netflix, my memory will kick in on a few titles and I will start from there.

      Reply
  4. I am so jealous!!! Aus never has any conventions so cool 😦
    But I am super glad you had a fantastic time – maybe one day I will go there too 😀
    And your cupcakes are adorable!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru
    Latest: Two Twix Fudgy Whities

    Reply
  5. So awesome. Very jealous. Also, love the Van Gogh.

    Reply
  6. I am totally jealous! Hopefully we’ll get to go down there sometime and we can all meet up!

    Reply
  7. Totally AWESOME!!!

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

