RSS Feed

On Getting a New Cookbook and Meeting Joy the Baker

Joy, me, and Angela

After my trip into L.A. two weeks ago to attend Gallifrey One, my husband wasn’t too thrilled about me, as he called it, “driving to Pasadena to buy a book”.  It didn’t matter, I was going anyway. What mattered was how I could make his four hour evening with the little ones less stressful so he wouldn’t be irritated with me.  I filled up their milk cups, made each a snack bowl, put away the Legos (they had been playing with them for days) and brought out the Potato Heads (they hadn’t played with for months).  Well, I needn’t have worried, the little ones took a nap!  They never take a nap for me!  Whatever…

In Joy's Instagram picture of the crowd you can see me but not in this one I took.

We made it out there in a little over an hour which made us about 45 minutes early.  Angela was hungry (O man did I hear about it the whole night, especially when she started flipping through the cookbook) but I just wanted to buy my book and get a spot.  Angela staved off her hunger and passed the time a bit by flipping through the young adult section of the bookstore (which was adjacent to the book signing area).  I do wish she had felt comfortable enough to explore more of the bookstore on her own, though.  It was huge and she LOVES to read.

About five to seven, it was clear that they had run out of books.  Vroman’s was awesome with dealing with this.  Everyone would still get their books signed but those who couldn’t get them that night would get them shipped to their house for free.  The room was packed.  It started about ten minutes late so everyone could get their book paid for and then Joy came out.  They gave her a small introduction and then she got up to speak. When she looked out at the crowd she almost started to cry.  It was clear how proud, overwhelmed, and humbled she was.  As a fan, it was a real gift to be there and see that moment.  She spoke about how it was a strange that we all knew almost an awkward amount about her and she didn’t know as much about us.  She made us bookmarks with her cat on them. She took questions.  Yes, I did ask one.  I wasn’t planning on it but it did pop in there and was genuine so I asked.  I asked her how she decided on the few recipes that made it into her book from her blog.  She stressed that there are only eight or so out of one hundred (that means 92 NEW recipies) and that it was a difficult choice.  Of the few she named off the top of her head, unfortunately none were my two favorites, Brown Butter Blueberry Muffins and the The Best Chocolate Buttercream.  O well, at least they made it in!

We were only in the second row so when the time came for us to have our book signed, it didn’t take too long.  Although, seeing as once I got up to stand in line my heart started doing the Electric Slide and simultaneously rose up into my throat, it seemed like forever.  I had made her a card and wrote in it how much she inspired me and such, but I did want her to know who I was (I mean online, in terms of the blog and Twitter and such) so I put my NerdyBaker logo on the back where the card says “This card was made and designed for you by”.  I thought that was teeny bit more subtle than, “Hi, I’m NerdyBaker!”  I just think that would have been kind of lame.  So we get up there, I give her the card and I say something to the effect of “I just wanted to give you this” and then I flip it over and not so subtly point to the logo as to say that is me (not as less lame as I was hoping).  Then she says, ‎”I thought that was you, NerdyBaker” which was just supremely awesome.  I explained how Angela was impressed that she sometimes eats popcorn for dinner and Joy explained that it wasn’t that glamourous and that she was sure it was way better to eat dinner with your mom and dad every night.  I don’t think Angela bought it.  We took a picture and hugged.  Angela even got a cat bookmark of her own.  I didn’t even look to see what she wrote in my book, I was in such a daze.  We were halfway home once I realized this but I had to wait till we got all the way there because it was too dark in the car (not to mention I was driving).

All in all an exhilarating and fun evening.  I know what kind of cake I am making for my next birthday.  I know what I am making when my neighbor brings me some zucchini in the summer.  I have some recipes set aside especially for my husband.  I do think the Flaxseed and Cracked Pepper Crackers are first, though.  The entire breakfast section next….

Just buy this awesome book!

Two Downton Abbey GeekyLinks this week 10 Facts about Downton Abbey  and if you haven’t seen these Downton Abbey Paper Dolls already well then seriously, you should be ashamed of yourself.

I do have two recipes done that I need to blog about.  I am sorry it has taken so long to post one.  One is even my first savory recipe (that isn’t a bread).

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

5 responses »

  1. Awesome post, Celina! It’s really wonderful when we can meet our favorite bloggers. Last year I met Angela Dudley (Bakerella), next is Joy, and in April, Giada de Laurentis (check her book tour schedule). Joy sounds like a wonderful person, and down to earth, like you said. Any tips on how I can get her to follow me on Twitter and Facebook? She probably thinks I’m weird by now, lol!

    Reply
  2. Awesome! too bad I don’t still live in LA, then I would have been able to see you too! Anyways, sounds like a great experience and kudos for her having read your blog. 🙂

    Reply
  3. I love joy the baker’s blog! What an exciting opportunity 😀
    Nice one!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru
    Latest: Microwave Fruity Syrup Oat Cake

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

