RSS Feed

My 5 Favorite Things (Right Now), Homework from Joy and Tracy

Posted on

If you don’t listen to podcasts, I just don’t know what to tell you.  I am now addicted and my gateway drug was the Joy the Baker Podcast.

It is my absolute favorite and it is the first thing I listen to every Thursday morning.  It is just two really good friends Joy and Tracy talking about “totally important unimportant things”.  It is completely hilarious and the dynamic is really good.  They are very alike and yet very different.  Joy likes mishmash styles and colors and Tracy likes clean lines and black & white as a color theme.  They both love food and have awesome blogs that have the best pictures ever.

They have made a homework assignment for those that want to do it and I believe I got mine in just under the wire even though Joy said not to be a procrastinator.  Sorry.  The assignment was to take pictures of your five current favorite things.

So here it goes…

Number One

Well, it is not just a picture but a video.  I am sure once you hear it, though, you will know why I had to include it.  My number one is the way my son says “I love you too” right now.  He gives it freely, it just requires an “I love you” from you first and it sounds like “I buv oo too”.  I know it won’t last the way it didn’t last when Angela stopped calling horses “yee haws” or her milk mixed with a Danimal “leche juice”.

Sarah never really had pet names for things, she just turned 5 but talks like a 30 year old.  Ask anyone, weird but cool at the same time.

Number Two

This is so embarrassing. What no, not the couches, but that my husband was right about them! And yes, the love seat has one almost as bad, too.

Number two is our new couches that we are getting this week.  I didn’t want to buy them but I will fully admit I was wrong and my husband was right.  It is time.  We were living with holes in our couches big enough for our kitty to hide in (however, she did need it, our kids always wanted to mess with her when we first got her).  They weren’t made by her but by our oldest cat who doesn’t scratch anymore.  I don’t have pictures of the new couches yet (hopefully getting them today) but here is a picture of the holes that we are getting rid of.

Number Three

Fluttershy, Pinkie Pie, Apple Jack, Rarity, Princess Luna (Nightmare Moon) and isn't that good enough? Not sure about the last one, OK?

My Little Pony.  Yes, My Little Pony.  All my kids watch the new incarnation on the Hub and really enjoy it.  The one that enjoys it the most is my 5 year old.  She can go on and on about Princess Celestia, Canterlot, Cutie Marks, Apple Jack, Rainbow Dash, and so on and so forth and she will if you sit there and let her.  Plus since her birthday and Easter she has gotten an influx of toys and she just loves being able to show you something new.  Sometimes it is annoying but when I really take the time and let her tell me all she knows and loves, it always brings a smile to my face mostly because it just makes her SO happy.  Also, there is Doctor Whooves so why wouldn’t I like it?

Number Four

This awesome notepad that isn’t mine (yet) but that my daughter got from a friend that made it.  Her friend gave it to her because she meant to make one but she accidentally made six or so and she knows Angela likes Doctor Who.  The best thing?  My daughter already asked her if she could have another one to give to me.  I love that kid!

Number Five

iPod Touch and Sally, the couch hider.

Last but not least is my iPod touch.  My Aunt Rosie bought it for my birthday last year.  I can use the wifi almost anywhere and this is what I use in my kitchen to look at recipes (saving paper!) and listen to podcasts (Nerdist, The Fringe Podcast , Justified podcast, a handful from the SModcast network, and probably about a handful of others including the Joy the Baker Podcast).  I just bought some new headphones that I love, that really drown out the kids if I am in the middle of something.  I used to have the volume all the way up and now I am at about 1/3 volume so I know they are working.  It is also great to have at a restaurant if Robert gets unruly because although I do have plenty of my own apps on it, it is mostly full of preschool games.

That is all.  I must go, I have to get this in.  No GeekyLink today especially with all the Podcast, Doctor Who, and My Little Pony talk going on already.  I have a neat one coming up especially for the creatively inclined Geeky Ladies in my next post which is done and coming first thing Thursday!

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

5 responses »

  1. Aw, your son’s precious! What a fun assignment from Joy and Tracy. I have to remember to listen to their podcasts more. I only heard them once and they were talking about Joy’s book signing. I could use a few laughs these days.

    Reply
  2. Hehe nice list! I am addicted to good podcasts too 😀
    As for new couches, I am most happy for you 😉

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Reply
    • I was happy too till my husband moved the old ones out and I saw the work I had to do cleaning the walls and the carpet. It is as good as it is going to get for now and he should be home any time!

      Reply
  3. I love your cat rug in that last pic! hehehe 🙂

    Reply
    • I tried to get a picture of the culprit that tore up my couch but it was like he knew what I was doing and he wasn’t having any of it. Our new baby girl though, is a pretty big ham.

      Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

