RSS Feed

Nutty Bar Cookies and Old (in our 30s) Friends

Posted on

Finally, here is the cookie I have been working on for about a month now and I really like it.  Aside from oatmeal (which I think helps keep the crispy cereals stay crispy) I also have cornflakes and rice krispies in it.  I LOVE both of them in here but if you only want to go with one of those, go with the rice krispies.

So yep, these were the cookies that were for someone so I guess you are wondering who, right?  They are for my oldes friend, my best man, my oldest daughter’s godfather, my friend Guillermo.  Unfortunately for him, he won’t get any because he lives too far away and with the chocolate drizzled on top, it makes them precarious to send.  So he will need to come visit us to get some.  (hint, hint)

All baked!

He was in the Peace Corps some years ago and I either gave him some Nutty Bars once or twice before he left or I sent him some once he was gone (who remembers? jeez we are getting old).  I really never knew he was a big fan of the whole chocolate/peanut butter combo till after we graduated high school and we had met when we were freshman.  About a month or so after school had started, he walked right into our (my friend Kim and I) third period religion class.  We all still keep in touch. Some years more than others but still…

I know I have given him some Reeses over the years too, but the Nutty Bars have stuck with me because I actually never had them until he introduced me to them.  They are from Little Debbie and we had always been more of a Hostess family.

Melted and ready to drizzle!

I really just kinda wanted to see if I could pull it off or not and even though it took me multiple tries, I am really pleased with the results.  Plus, I know Guillermo will come and get them at some point.  We live pretty close to his family, so whenever he is in town he makes sure to come visit his goddaughter.  He is always here around Christmas, at the very least, and I am usually making Christmas goodies or something for my son’s birthday when he stops by and we have a good catch up over buttercream and wine.  Can you beat that?  I doubt it.

My GeekyLink for this week is Fashion It So.  It goes through all the episodes of Star Trek: The Next Generations and goes through the fashions of each episode.  It is certainly hilarious but also a bit enlightening.  Also, I just finished Season 5 of The Guild and I don’t know how Felicia Day could have topped the first four seasons but she did.  TONS of nerd cameos and yet you still stay tethered to the story of the main six guild members.  Please watch this show!  Only 6 or so hours of your life will put you up to date with this wonderful series.  Streaming on Netflix or on the YouTube Channel geekandsundry (new episode every Tuesday).

Nutty Bar Cookies

adapted from Crunchy Cornflake Cookies

Ingredients

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking soda

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup shortening

1/2 cup peanut butter

3/4 cup granulated sugar

3/4 cup packed brown sugar

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 cup uncooked regular oats (not instant or quick cooking)

1 11.5 oz bag of milk chocolate chips, separated into 1 cup and the remainder of the bag

3/4 cup crispy rice cereal (or 1 1/2 cups if not using any corn flakes)

3/4 cup corn flakes

Method

Preheat oven to 325°

Whisk together flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt in a medium bowl until combined.

Beat shortening and peanut butter at medium speed until creamy.  Scrape down the bowl.  Add the sugars and beat until creamy and well combined.  Add your eggs and vanilla and beat well.  Scrape down your bowl again and gradually add your flour mixture and beat until just blended.  Stir in oats, rice cereal, cornflakes, and 1 cup of milk chocolate chips until evenly distributed.

Drop your dough by tablespoonfuls on to parchment paper lined baking sheets and flatten your dough balls slightly.  Bake at 325° for 13-15 minutes.  Cool slightly on the baking sheets before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

Once the cookies are completely cool, take the rest of your milk chocolate chips and put them in a microwavable safe bowl.  Heat them on medium or 50% power for one minute.  Stir and continue to microwave on 50% power for thirty second intervals until completely melted (if you stir well, you should only have to do this once more, two at the most).  Spoon your melted chocolate into a plastic sandwich bag and seal.

When you are ready, snip the corner of your plastic baggie and pipe the melted chocolate onto your cookies.   I put my cookies back onto my cooled cookie sheet so I could get them as close as possible to one another and to prevent as much wasted melted chocolate as possible.  You can leave your cookies on the counter to let the chocolate set or put them in the refrigerator for a few minutes to help speed the process along.

Should last for a week in a sealed container.  Enjoy!

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

9 responses »

  1. These cookies look amazingly delicious! Love the ingredients you used. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  2. I used to love Nutty Bars! I haven’t had one in a decade or more … but these cookies may have convinced me to go get some! Or at least make these cookies. Great stuff.

    Reply
  3. Oh my! You mentioned me in your post! YAY!! These look amazingly delicious and I will be making these this weekend!! On a side note: I totally miss you and Guillermo! SC is too far away from you guys, maybe I need my husband to look into a transfer out West! 🙂

    Reply
    • Yes, you do! I know I wanted to include so many stories but it just didn’t all fit or make sense except to say that I miss you guys. I was thinking of our Junior Prom day out and lots of other things and I was realizing that yeah, us three really did do a lot of stuff together just us. Trivia: Do you remember the last movie we saw before I left for school?

      Reply
      • I am ashamed to say I do not remember the movie!! I have a terrible memory for details, ugh. I found some old pics of the three of us, I will have to scan and send them to you. BTW – Nutella & Bananas….. GENIUS! my two favorite things!! It works out perfect, my husband is allergic to bananas so the whole thing will be mine!!! HA HA!! 🙂

        Reply
  4. These are great, anything with cereal and chocolate is great in my opinion. This is a truly creative and original recipe. I want one now!

    Reply
  5. These biscuits look really tasty – i love the ingredients 😀
    Crunch factor huge!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

