RSS Feed

Banana Strawberry Oatmeal Muffins, Camouflage Cupcakes and Fringe

Posted on

I have had a hankering for some muffins for awhile now seeing as I spent all of last Sunday trying to adapt some.  I really wanted to get back to doing some baking with whole wheat flour and I just couldn’t make it work.  So I tried to think of some other whole wheat muffins that I have made and loved and then lightening struck. As always Joy was the answer.  Of course everyone knows of Joy’s Browned Butter Blueberry Muffins (I have even made a batch or two) but she also has another Blueberry Muffin that is a bit healthier with whole wheat flour and oatmeal that was ripe for the adaptation I was trying to do.  And even though I am thrilled with how they came out, I had to go and make them a tad unhealthier (but also a tad more awesome) by adding a streusel topping (that you can totally omit if you want).  Next time I think will use a berry that has a bit more kick and still goes with bananas, like well, maybe a blueberry.  You could even add some chopped nuts and make this a classic banana nut muffin.  It would be FANTASTIC and (kinda) healthy!

Those beauties had to wait till Monday morning, however, because Saturday I baked Camoflage Cupcakes for my nephew’s 11th birthday party on Sunday.  I got this idea from My Creative Way.  The cupcake was just yellow cake Cake Mix Doctored with a green basic buttercream frosting.  My Creative Way used brown and green food coloring but I used about two tablespoons of cocoa powder for the brown color.  Just spoon it into your muffin tin, alternating colors.  So easy and it looks great!  I frosted each cupcake with a thick layer of buttercream (piped on, then smoothed out) and then just one quick go round on each with a grass tip (Wilton #233 ).  I also sprinkled some green colored sugar on top which I had wanted to put on these just because but really worked out great because it helped make the grass look darker and added a little depth to it.  Top with a random army dude and you got yourself some Camo Cupcakes.

My GeekyLink this week is all about Fringe.  First of all, I am absolutely THRILLED that it was renewed for a fifth and final season.  Unfortunately, it is only for 13 episodes but something is better than nothing.  Yes, I was one of the first to find out via Twitter and it was one of the most awesome things to share among likeminded people.  If you are a fan you need to live Tweet it on Friday nights, it is one of the reasons it was renewed!  The fans came together and made it an event every Friday and aside from trying to avoid spoilers since I am on the west coast, it has just been one of the most fun fan experiences EVER and we do it every week.  Also, I am a big fan of The Fringe Podcast and I love, love, love their live show on Sunday.  Check it out!  So here is the trailer for the second half of the Fringe Season Finale.

Banana Strawberry Oatmeal Muffins

adapted from Joy the Baker

Makes 12-15 muffins

Ingredients

Muffins

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

1 1/4 cups oats (not quick cooking)

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup mashed banana (about 2 large bananas)

1/2 cup low-fat buttermilk

2 tablespoons canola oil

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 large egg, lightly beaten

1 1/4 cup diced strawberries

Streusel Topping

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1/4 cup brown sugar

2 tablespoons oats

3 tablespoons butter, melted

Method

Preheat oven to 375°

Line your muffin tin with paper liners.

In a small bowl, mix your streusel ingredients (flour, sugar, oats, melted butter) with a fork and/or your hands until completely moist and set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda, and salt and set aside.  In a medium bowl, whisk together mashed banana, buttermilk, brown sugar, oil, vanilla, and egg.  Make a well in the dry ingredients and add in the banana mixture.  Combine with a spatula until just moist.  Fold in the strawberries.  Use an ice cream scoop to fill your muffin cups.

Top with streusel and bake for 17-19 minutes.

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

5 responses »

  1. Oh my gosh, everything looks amazing! I love to bake but try not to very often because I end up eating way too much – haha! Fringe is one of my husband’s favorite shows, I’ve watched a few times and really like it as well. It’s so cool when the fans are heard and they continue great shows because of it!

    Reply
    • This makes me really like your husband! Does he live tweet it? Has he heard of The Fringe Podcast? I have neighbors and dance moms to give food away too but OK, yeah maybe sometimes I still eat too much!

      Reply
  2. These look delicious Celina. Now I am super in the mood for a muffin.

    Reply
  3. Love the camouflage cupcakes. So clever!!! The muffins are lovely and look so moist and delicious.

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

