RSS Feed

Tea, Earl Grey, Cupcakes with Lemon Scented Whipped Cream

Posted on

These beauties are for Anne Wheaton and those others that actually order tea with, “Tea, Earl Grey, hot,” in the manner of a certain Captain, and just receive a blank stare.  I don’t ever order tea when I go out, but if I did, that is how I would do it.  How sad that anyone might not get the reference.

Speaking of the above reference, did anyone else know besides the millions of people that follow certain other people on twitter (@wilw, @levarburton, @jonathansfrakes, @brentspiner) that the entire cast of Star Trek: The Next Generation just reunited at the Calgary Comic & Entertainment Expo held less than 3 weeks ago?  Now, sure, it was a big theatre, but as a huge Next Generation fan, why the heck wasn’t this thing televised or something?  Of course you can pretty much watch the whole thing online here or here and OK lots of other places but it would’ve been awesome to have seen it live.  I also really like this recap and this is pretty funny (make sure you scroll all the way down).

No, that is not fingerprints in the batter! What are you talking about?

I showed a picture from the reunion to my oldest daughter (I think it was this) and she didn’t know who the people were.  *sigh*  I think now is the time to begin to school her with episodes from Netflix.  I remember watching the series with my mom, her favorite was The Offspring, and now I can do that with my daughter.  I totally remember buying her that episode from our local Suncoast for a birthday or holiday or something (geez, I’m old).

The beginnings of lemon sugar.

So speaking of moms and tea, I think this cupcake would be really great for a Mother’s Day Tea!  If I had to do it over again, I would make the flavor just a bit milder by using plain milk or only putting one bag worth of tea leaves in the batter instead of two but really it is to your taste.  While I was eating the batter (yes, eating the batter), having used the tea steeped milk and two bags worth of tea, I thought the batter was AWESOME but after baking, I think going just a bit milder may have been better.

Um, if you need another GeekyLink after the above post, I want to be your best friend.

Earl Grey Cupcakes with Lemon Scented Whipped Cream

barely adapted from Christine Wei

Ingredients

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened

1 cup granulated sugar

2 eggs

1 1/2 all purpose flour

2 1/4 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup milk

2 bags of Earl Grey tea to steep in milk

2 bags of Earl Grey tea for the batter

Method

Make your lemon sugar (see below) for the whipped cream.

Preheat your oven to 350°.  Line 1 cupcake pan with liners.

In a small saucepan, heat your milk over low heat to just barely boiling and steep two bags of tea.  Once the milk gets to barely boiling shut off the heat and continue to steep for five minutes.  Stir occasionally during the five minutes to prevent filming.  Set aside to cool completely.  (If you want a milder flavor you can skip the steeping and just use plain milk.)

In the bowl of a stand mixer, place your butter and sugar and cream until light and fluffy.  Add your eggs, one at a time, making sure the egg is fully incorporated after each addition.

If your tea leaves are finely ground, you won’t need to do this but if not, place your tea leaves in a spice grinder until it becomes a fine powder.  I just used Trader Joe’s bagged Earl Grey and I did put it through my grinder but it would’ve been just fine if I didn’t.  Then in a small bowl, place the tea, flour, baking powder, and salt and whisk together.

Beat half of the dry mixture into the butter mixture until well blended.  Add the milk, making sure it is cool, and the remaining dry mixture until just combined.

Fill your prepared cupcake pan evenly with batter.  I used my ice cream scoop.  Bake for 18-20 minutes.  Cool completely

This is supposed to make 12 cupcakes but I came up with 13.

Lemon Scented Whipped Cream

Ingredients

1/4 cup granulated sugar

2 teaspoons lemon zest

2 cups whipping cream

Method

In a small bowl, place your sugar and your lemon zest.  Using the back of a metal spoon, crush the lemon zest into the sugar until the zest is well incorporated and the sugar is completely coated.  Set aside for about an hour.  If setting aside for longer, seal your mixture in an airtight container.

Place the lemon sugar and whipping cream into your mixing bowl and stir until well incorporated.  Chill the mixture and your whisk or beaters for 3o minutes.

Whip your cream and sugar mixture until stiff peaks form.  If you find some of the zest has accumulated on your beater, you can either scrape it off and leave it out or incorporate it back in for looks (the oils in the zest already got into your sugar so it doesn’t need to be there unless you think it looks pretty).

Pipe whipped cream generously onto cupcakes and enjoy!

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

4 responses »

  1. Hi Celina, we LOVE this image and would like to feature it on our site. Please get in touch for more details – editorial.homemade@gravityroad.com. Thanks!

    Reply
  2. These cupcakes are perfect for me! With my tea obsession, I absolutely love baking these. They have become a regular for me to bake to gatherings!

    Amazing recipe!

    Reply
  3. I’ve done exactly what you mentioned and did in fact receive a blank stare. It really made me disappointed in humanity, and my generation.

    These cupcakes look SO YUMMY, and I love the idea of lemon scented whipped cream!

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

