RSS Feed

Sundays with Joy/Leek and Asparagus Quiche

Posted on

This Sunday, for Mother’s Day, our little Sunday’s with Joy group is tackling her Leek and Asparagus Quiche from the Joy the Baker Cookbook.  I must admit that neither of these vegetables I have ever eaten before.  I have always wanted to try leeks but I have never wanted to eat asparagus.  I also must admit, that if I hadn’t been in the group, I probably wouldn’t have tried this recipe.  Working with the puff pastry, making a quiche in and of itself, and working with these veggies that I had never eaten before let alone worked with.

Leeks, asparagus, gruyere, O my!

Well, boy o boy, was I totally off, wrong, an idiot or whatever!  This was so freaking good!  My storebought puff pastry didn’t puff as much as I would have liked but I do think I rolled it a bit thin.  However, I was not even disappointed about that because it gave me lots of scraps to make a mini quiche that I didn’t have to wait as long to eat (you are supposed to let your quiche cool for an hour).  The leeks gave a flavor as good as I thought they would be, I was surprised at how much I liked the asparagus, and the gruyere… What can I say about the gruyere?  So nutty and buttery and rich.  Kind of expensive but it more than made up for that in the awesomeness of this quiche (and the tomato/avocado grilled cheese that I made with the leftovers).

Partners in crime, waiting for the rest of the filling.

The only change I made was that I didn’t use whole milk.  I used what I had on hand which was 2%.  I was thinking about changing the asparagus but I am really glad I didn’t.  It is not that I felt the need to absolutely follow the recipe but I felt it was more important for me to expose myself to something that I haven’t eaten before.

Also before I forget, Happy Mother’s Day to all my fellow mothers out there in the blogosphere!  I actually got a present this year that I know my husband put some thought into.  He has been planting (food, grass, trees) all over our yard the last few months and yesterday he put in a yellow rose bush for me.  Yellow roses are my favorite!  We had them in our wedding and I even have one tattooed on my back (my only one).  He hates giving them to me because they mean friendship but I always tell him, “Isn’t that the point?  You are my friend too and that is most important.”  Now he got me some that I will always have.

No GeekyLink today.  It has been a long weekend.

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

9 responses »

  1. Aside from being a very tasty vegetable, asparagus is also a good source of vitamin B complex group. ‘,’:*

    Many thanks http://www.healthmedicinelab.com“>

    Reply
  2. bakeaholicmama

    Looks perfect!!! And the grilled cheese? Yes please!

    Reply
  3. Good lord…tomato avocado grilled cheese with Gruyere?? You’re killing me.

    Reply
  4. Omg! this is so similar to the one my sister made today for Mother’s Day, minus the asparagus. What a treat! Hope you had a wonderful Mother’s Day!

    Reply
  5. I used 2% as well and I think it was just fine 🙂 Hope you enjoyed it as much as we did!

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

