RSS Feed

Sundays with Joy/Vegan Avocado Chocolate Cupcakes with Vegan Chocolate Buttercream

Posted on

This cupcake was a bit frustrating.  Mostly because it ends up that mine isn’t completely vegan.  Cupcake vegan.  Buttercream not…just barely.  It turns out if I had bought the unsalted version of the margarin I used, it would be all good.  Whatever, I don’t get it.  That is why I am NOT a vegan.  The thing that really chaps my hide is that I could have used Crisco (not healthy but vegan) that I already had at home.  I even use vegan margarine as a spread at home (who knew?) but it is in the tub and wouldn’t hold together for the buttercream (I figured that one out the hard way).

Getting started…

Whatever, my vegan friends.  I gave it my best effort.  I know LOTS more for next time.  I also wanted to give it my best effort because I have a couple of acquaintances that I see twice a week that are doing a 30 day vegan cleanse.  I would’ve liked to have been able to offer them a treat or two.  I have made Joy’s Vegan Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies and I really, really LOVED them and no one knew they were vegan until I told them so that is why I didn’t want to cheat and add any butter or eggs or anything to any part of the recipe.

Interesting…

First off, the cupcake itself was fantastic.  I don’t know if the avocado was calling to the Mexican in me but I have never wanted to add cinnamon to a cupcake so much as I did during this recipe.  I was seriously restraining myself.  Maybe next time.  And there WILL be a next time.  I have chocolate cake recipes that I use for cupcakes that are great cakes but leave the cupcakes flat and kind of sad.  These puffed up all pretty, just waiting to be eaten.  They tasted great too!  I know the magic Joy can work and she certainly did it here.

Puffed up and pretty!
And who else thinks silicone cupcake molds were made just for snacking?

On to my failure of a vegan buttercream…

So I did first try it with my vegan spread but once I added my almond milk (instead of soy as in the original recipe), it all fell apart.  I really should have just left it out and I do think it would have worked.  I don’t know.  With the margarine, it was simple and foolproof.  It tasted fantastic too.  I dare say the flavor profile is that of her Best Chocolate Buttercream Frosting.  One thing that is missing though, is a pinch of salt.  I didn’t add it to my second attempt because I had bought the “original” salted margarine and I thought I wouldn’t need it.  I don’t want to say I was wrong because some people don’t like it but I like salt in all of my sweets and particularly chocolate.  A pinch would have been perfect.

To end on a good note, the kids couldn’t tell the difference and my son stuffed two down his throat in less than 15 minutes.  I would say that was a success!  And as per usual with this series, if you want the recipe, buy the book!

I do have a GeekyLink this week that I think is pretty awesome.  Space is friggin awesome.  Space travel is even more awesome and now it might be easier (eventually)!

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

Let me know your thoughts...

