RSS Feed

Mexican Hot Chocolate Ice Cream (or how to eat ice cream for breakfast)

Posted on

So maybe I did go a little crazy with the ice cream maker last week.  So what?  I mean c’mon it IS homemade ice cream.  Plus, I did borrow the ice cream maker and I didn’t want to be a bad borrower.  I totally wasn’t.  I gave it back within a week and a half and I gave away a big chunk of the Strawberry Cookie Dough Ice Cream that I had left.  However, I did mention that I would need to borrow it again before the month was out.  With a haul like that though, I don’t think they minded.

Mexican Chocolate and Dark Chocolate

Also, I am sorry if you are tired of this flavor from me…

Okay, no, not really.  It makes me happy and reminds me of my childhood AND it is awesome!  So until there is nothing else that I can make with Mexican chocolate, I am going to be making everything with it.  The same goes for the Nutella and banana combo too.

The beginning and the end…

Onto the ice cream… or more particularly how to eat ice cream for breakfast.  It all starts for me with ice cream and cake.  Both can be eaten separately but why?  That is why birthday parties are so great.  Melty ice cream seeping into your cake, makes everything SO much better.  And maybe, on occasion, I haven’t waited for a party to put some ice cream upon, say, a slice of pound cake that I had in the house.

So once I made this ice cream and really just LOVED the way it turned out, I knew I needed to buy some pan dulce to put it on.  I know, I know it is technically bread, but whatever.  The pan dulce goes with the chocolate so I just had to try it together and I am so glad I did.  Pan dulce can just be a treat but normally I would eat it for breakfast with a hot mug of Ibarra or Abuelita.  I have transformed that mug of hot chocolate into ice cream that you can eat with your pan for breakfast on a hot day in the summer.  DO IT!  I did!

My GeekyLink for this week is for something local.  The NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory is having a contest for 25 of their social media fans (guilty!) to join them for a 3 day NASA social that will hopefully culminate in the landing of the Curiosity Rover on Mars which is anticipated to land on August 5 around 10:30pm PDT.  I got to see a prototype of the Curiosity last year at their open house.  The actual one was there too and you could’ve gone to see it (it was going to launch a few months from then) but the group that we went with didn’t go see it 😦

Mexican Hot Chocolate Ice Cream

adapted from Allrecipes.com

Ingredients

1 3.15oz. round of Abuelita or Ibarra chocolate, roughly chopped

1 cup whole milk

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon sugar

1 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder

1 teaspoon cinnamon

3 egg yolks, lightly beaten

2 ounces semisweet chocolate, chopped (I used a small bark of Trader Joe’s Dark chocolate that was only 1.75 oz)

2 cups heavy cream

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Method

Combine Mexican chocolate, milk, salt, sugar, cocoa powder, and cinnamon in a small saucepan and bring to a simmer, stirring occasionally.  Place the egg yolks in a small bowl.  Once the chocolate mixture is at a simmer, take 1/2 cup of the mixture and quickly whisk into the eggs.  Then return the egg mixture into the saucepan, whisking constantly.  Heat on medium/low until thickened but DO NOT boil.  Remove from the heat and whisk in the chopped chocolate until it is entirely melted and incorporated completely.

Pour into a chilled bowl (just chilled in the fridge for about 10 minutes) and refrigerate for two hours, stirring every half hour.  When cool, whisk in the cream and vanilla and chill until ready to use (at least another two hours but up until the next day).

Pour into an ice cream maker and churn according to manufacturer’s instructions.

Rip apart some pan dulce and spoon your ice cream onto it!

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

8 responses »

  1. Oh I could definitely eat ice cream for breakfast, especially this ice cream! Delicious!

    Reply
  2. A) this looks fantastic. B) I really love that you always give a nerd link. Us fellow nerds (is that grammatically correct?) appreciate it. C) I also love that you are one of NASA’s social media fans. I think we’d get along well.

    Reply
  3. This looks so good…..mmmmmmm

    Reply
  4. Now that’s a breakfast I could really get into. I LOVE Mexican chocolate this sounds amazing and delicious. I love making ice cream!!

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

