RSS Feed

Sundays with Joy/Avocado Pound Cake

Posted on

I was super excited about this week’s Sundays with Joy.  I thought this was a great idea.

What I loved about this cake was the texture.  I mean adding the cornmeal?  Pure genius!  Also, if you are an eater of batters, it is super light and fluffy and sweet!  Really!  The cake was wonderful and I had my fair share of slices slathered in butter.

I was surprised that I even had the chance to bake these cakes (it makes two) this week.  You see, I only had one day to bake this week with TONS of stuff to do.  I baked the pound cake, a cookie cake for my 5 year old’s preschool graduation, cookies for my 9 year old’s teacher (normally I don’t condone sweets for teachers because they probably get a lot of the stuff, but I was given several hints by said teacher), and bread just because I haven’t made bread in awhile.

My busy month is not slowing down any time soon, but thank goodness for me we only have a smoothie coming up next week.  Whew!  As always, if you want the recipe, go buy Joy’s Cookbook!  You will not regret it!

My GeekyLink for today is ME!  Okay not really, it is this.  While all the other food bloggers will be returning home after hanging out at BlogHer,  I am going to nerd out on some NASA.  I went last year and had the BEST time.  My oldest daughter is going with me again and this year I am taking my nephews too.  I am so excited!

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

5 responses »

  1. I loved the batter too, so smooth!

    Reply
    • Really the batter was SO good, I almost wish I didn’t have to bake it. REALLY, 2nd only to chocolate chip cookie dough in terms of batter eating. Not that I condone batter eating but yeah, it was a beautiful batter!

      Reply
  2. Agreed on the cornmeal and awesomeness of the fluffy batter!

    Reply
  3. Love pound cake and never in a million years would have thought to add avocado, brilliant really. Looks delicious!

    Reply
  4. bakeaholicmama

    Looks lovely Celina! I LOVED this recipe!

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

