RSS Feed

Confetti Cake Batter Cookies

Posted on

This was the second time I made these cookies.  The first time, I messed with the leavening and got what I thought were awful looking (completely flat, no edges at all) cookies but they were all I had made and I had made lots so I sent them to school with my daughter for whatever it was she had asked me to bake them for.  All I got for the rest of the year, no matter what I had made since (along with a request for a small stash for herself) was her teacher telling me, “(insert recipe here) was great but you know what was really good?  Those first cookies you brought.”  While I LOVE that her teacher isn’t the kind that judges a book by its cover and in the same regard, a cookie for how awful it looks, I hadn’t liked how they turned out.  So once I decided that I was going to give her an entire batch for her end of the year gift, I had to fix it.

I figured, well this should be easy.  This time I will just follow the recipe.  Unfortunately, for me, this is what happened when I did… I am sure it was my fault, in fact you can see that this “ugly” one was overbaked but I needed to do something to get it to work for me.

If I MUST point out the wrong one for you, it is the one on the right.

Better than my first ever batch but not what I would want to give to an amazing teacher for an end of the year gift.  So as I made the first batch the night before the last day of school, I had to get up at the butt crack of dawn to make a new batch for her teacher. So I did and it worked.  Whew!  It is yummy, and chewy, AND pretty, yay!  Next time I might cut down on the sugar a bit but I am VERY pleased.

Well, really that is all.  I have got to go, I am in the throws of dance recital week here at my house and I have to get dressed before I start doing hair for opening night.  So before I go all Dance Moms on you, here is my GeekyLink for today.  It is a Geeky Bucket List put together by the ladies at GeekMom (a site that once I found it, I found myself on it all of the time!).  I have really only completed a handful, I am about halfway on another handful (like #38, I have bought the books, I just haven’t read them yet).  Another handful don’t really interest me but the rest I really need to get started on.

Confetti Cake Batter Cookies

adapted from Lovin’ From the Oven

Ingredients

1 cup all purpose flour

1 1/4 cup yellow cake mix

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/3 cup rainbow jimmies

1/2 cup (1 stick) softened butter

1 egg

1 egg yolk

2 teaspoons vanilla

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

Method

Combine the flour, cake mix, baking soda, and jimmies in a medium bowl and lightly whisk to combine.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream together the butter and sugars.  Add the egg, egg yolk, and vanilla and mix until well incorporated.

Slowly add in the dry ingredients until completely incorporated then refrigerate the dough for at least one hour.

Preheat oven to 350°.  Scoop out dough in heaping tablespoonfuls (made so much easier with a cookie scoop) onto parchment lined baking sheets.  Bake for 12-15 minutes or until the edges turn golden brown.

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

2 responses »

  1. Love these cookies Celina! I recently made funfetti cookies too- needed to live up to my aunt cookies title. 😉

    Gorgeous pictures!

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

