RSS Feed

Sundays with Joy/Coffee Vanilla Ice Cream Pie with Chocolate Coffee Syrup

Posted on

Comfort zone, Joy has smashed through you again.  This was my first attempt at making a meringue pie crust and it turned out beautifully.

Truthfully, I was this close to omitting the orange zest in the crust.  Boy, would that have been a mistake!  It complements the coffee ice cream so nicely and cuts through the sweetness just a bit.  Also, I made sure not to just crush the cookies and finely chop the nuts in the crust, I decided to pretty much pulverize them and I think that helped mine not stick to my pie plate at all.

From egg whites and mix-ins to pie crust.

So lets get on with it.  I am not a fan of coffee ice cream.  Give me mint chocolate chip anyday.  However, I had just bought some Frappuccino in bottles the other day (really just for the bottles, I don’t like to spend that much money on coffee) and just realized how sweet they were.  When they first came out I thought they were SO strong but that was before I really started to drink coffee.  This time, I almost thought they were too sweet to drink.  Almost.  So when I got my coffee ice cream out and began to stir to soften it up, I may have had a taste or two.  It tasted just like the Frappuccinos I had the week before!  I am wondering if the last time I tried coffee ice cream was before I started drinking coffee as well, and that is why I had stayed away from it.  I am not sure if I will ever order it but I will have no problem finishing the container that I bought to make this pie.

Pie out of the freezer and then complete with whipped cream.

If you haven’t guessed, I LOVED this pie!  Also, if you are not a huge fan of coffee ice cream, there is plenty of vanilla ice cream and whipped cream to cut a bit of the coffeeness.  However, I wouldn’t use the zest in the crust then because as I said before, it really complements the coffee ice cream.  I didn’t change anything up in the recipe except that I used my vanilla bean paste in the whipped cream instead of regular extract because I had used the Trader Joe’s vanilla wafers (they have visible vanilla bean seeds) and vanilla bean ice cream so I thought I would just continue with the theme.  I did also make a chocolate coffee syrup to go on top.  As always, if you want the recipe for the pie buy Joy’s wonderful cookbook.

My GeekyLink today is an Avengers/Firefly mashup, both Joss Whedon creations and now both share the same theme song!

Chocolate Coffee Syrup

Ingredients

1.65 ounces chopped dark chocolate (approx 1/4 cup) I used a small Trader Joe’s Dark Chocolate Bar

2 tablespoons heavy cream

1 1/2 tablespoons strong coffee

Method

Put your chocolate, heavy cream, and coffee (if cold)  in a microwave safe bowl and microwave on high for 30 seconds.  Mix till the chocolate is completely melted and everything is incorporated and it is all glossy and shiny.

If your coffee is hot, add it in after the cream and chocolate come out of the microwave.  Mix till the chocolate is completely melted and everything is incorporated and it is all glossy and shiny.

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

6 responses »

  1. Holy moley . . . divine!

    Reply
  2. Great minds think alike — both with mint and breakfast 😉

    Reply
  3. bakeaholicmama

    looks great! The perfect slice!!

    Reply
  4. This looks amazing. Don’t like coffee at all so was going to sit this one out but it looks so good

    Reply
  5. Love this! Your pics are really great and thanks to you I am drooling at my computer screen.

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

