RSS Feed

Sundays with Joy/Chocolate Raspberry Fudge Pops

Posted on

I know it is Monday and again I am late with my Sundays with Joy.  It was because of a very busy family filled weekend.  My brother-in-law celebrated his 40th on Saturday.  My brother had come down to celebrate with us and we spent most of Sunday with him as well.  Then my husband and I spent Sunday afternoon buying our very first smartphones and we spent the evening playing around with those.  I figured I could get up early and get this post out less late then it is now but my kitty that had surgery had some issues that we felt we should take care of early this morning.  It turned out to be nothing but better safe than sorry (and less money spent) where our Sally is concerned.

Now onto the Pops!  Can I tell you and would you believe me that these were the best and easiest thing that we have made so far?!  As I started to eat my first (of three over the weekend), I couldn’t get over how good they were.  I was actually able to make them Saturday before the party and left them to freeze.  It took me no time at all.  I fit it in while frosting my brother-in-law’s birthday cupcakes.  I was eating my first after we got home from the party.  All my kid’s loved them too.  My daughter that doesn’t eat fruit will even lick mine until she sees the fruit, then stop.  Also, I used bananas for mine instead of raspberries mostly just because it would’ve meant an extra trip to the store.  My brother had one on Sunday, loved it, but said that he would really like to have tried one with raspberries.  He was also pretty impressed with my signed copy of the cookbook (he is a Joy the Baker Podcast listener) and is thinking of buying his own copy of her cookbook.

I also just used paper cups and (dangerous sharp point!) candy apple sticks (I thought I had popsicle sticks but I am just glad I had something).  I didn’t want to have to go out and buy anything new for the recipe.  Now that I have tried it I want to buy some popsicle molds just so I can make it again and again and again and have it look prettier.  Someone that made it earlier in the week said to use smaller chocolate pieces such as mini chocolate chips so I just ended up flaking it off and chopping it very fine.  Even in an ice cream, I prefer the chocolate flakes to chips.  Just writing this I am craving another…

My GeekyLink for today is the trailer for the new season of Breaking Bad.  It is one of a handful of shows that my husband I watch together and we both really love it.  The season premiere is just under 2 weeks away and we can both barely wait.   In the meantime, AMC is doing a good job of showing old episodes.  Catch up!  You won’t regret it.

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

One response »

  1. NB Older Brother

    These were sooooo good. And so were the cupcakes Nerdybaker made for our brother-in-law’s birthday! Very grateful to finally get a sample of Nerdybaker’s latest culinary efforts AND Joy’s chocolate buttercream frosting. Holy moly!

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

