RSS Feed

Apple Cinnamon Cream Cheese Wontons

Posted on

Pets.  What can I say?  You can’t live with ’em and you can’t throw them out the window.  You can bring them in through the window but we’ll get to that later… We have three pets.  Sammy (our dog), Clyde (my firstborn and a cat), and Sally (our newest family member) who should be turning one around September.  Clyde and Sammy have been model pets.  Clyde took a few years to get used to the kids and will still hiss but it is because we spoiled him rotten the first year we had him before any kids came.  He had his own room and everything.  Sammy, we picked up from the shelter about two months after we got our house.  He looks raggedy but is a real sweetheart and lately my son is always saying how he wants to “go side and pay Sammy”.  The only problem we have had was when we got Sammy, Clyde scratched him in the eye and we had to have that fixed.  That was four years ago and since then, apart from your standard vaccination appointments, we haven’t had to go to the vet for either of them.

Onto Sally… My husband saw a kitten running through traffic that either he heard or felt run up in the wheel well of his truck.  So he got out and saved the kitty as opposed to running it over.  That is how we met Sally.  We took her in and made sure she was OK and got her first shots.  Things were going smooth except sometimes the younger kids would get rough with her and Clyde again had to adjust to another animal in the house.  About three months ago a fluffy grey kitten started hanging around.  About a week after that, Sally was protecting her hindquarters like a madwoman.  After a couple of days she seemed to get better but then my daughter got a good look and she said, “Mommy, Sally has a hole.”  O geez!  She had an abscess from being bitten and she needed a drain and stitches and ugh.  They also shaved her butt.  About two trips to the vet later, the grey cat was seemingly hit by a car just down the way from our house.  It is my belief, after seeing what happened to Sally that Clyde pushed the grey kitty in front of a moving car.

Pretty packages!

Then almost a month ago, Sally began to climb the roof.  One night we DID have to bring her in through our bedroom window because she found herself on our patio with no way down.  Two days later, we couldn’t find her.  My 9 year old would go outside periodically and call her and she finally got a response.  Sally had wedged herself in between some plants (to me, it seemed to stay and not be found).  We got her out and to the vet we went because she was limping badly.  She broke her leg way up on her hip and the vet wanted to put a pin in it because he didn’t think it would set with just a cast.  I saw the x-ray and had to agree.  It was so high on her hip, she really wouldn’t have been able to get around if we had amputated it.  Anyways, yesterday we got some good news.  She gets her pin out in two weeks!  It was hard getting her to rest and take her medicine but we get our kitty back.  Let’s just hope our “free” kitty stops costing us so much money from here on out!

All her hair from the abscess situation hadn’t grown back in yet before she had to have her butt shaved again.

Onto the wontons… What can I say?  I am obsessed.  I just frikin LOVE cream cheese wontons!  The other day I went to the restaurant that I got the idea from and ordered a 6 piece…and they were gross and mine were way better.  I am not lying!  It may have just been that batch (it didn’t have green onions in it and I know they are supposed to) but it made me happy.  And places like that always have dessert egg rolls and I thought why not dessert cream cheese wontons?  That is how I came up with these.  I baked them because I couldn’t bring myself to fry them but you could do either.  Serve them with a caramel sauce!  My favorite so far that I have found is from Always With Butter.

My GeekyLink for today isn’t from Comic Con.  I haven’t even gone through all my Comic Con stuff yet!  It is two of the parodies of the Call Me Maybe song that all the preteen girls are obsessed with (mine included) that make it somewhat palatable for a mom like me.  First, from Cookie Monster and second, from Star Wars.

Apple Cinnamon Cream Cheese Wontons

Ingredients

8 ounces cream cheese, softened

1 1/2 cup shredded apples, I used 2 small apples (a Granny Smith and a Fuji, but use whatever you like)

3/4 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon fresh ground nutmeg

pinch salt

3 tablespoons melted butter for brushing wontons and mini-muffin pan

30 wonton wrappers

cinnamon sugar or turbinado sugar for sprinkling (optional)

Method

Shred your peeled apples in a food processor or mini chopper or grater.  A few chunks are OK, it doesn’t have to be perfect.  Place the apples in a strainer and press most of the moisture out.  Place the strained shredded apples in a small bowl and add the softened cream cheese.  Stir until well combined.

Add the cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt and stir until everything is well incorporated.  Set aside.

Preheat oven to 400°

Brush the muffin pan with butter and set aside.

Brush all edges of each wonton wrapper, a few at a time, with butter.  Place about 1 1/2 teaspoons of filling in each wonton wrapper.  I used my tablespoon cookie scoop and then divided each scoop into three portions.  You can use a little more or a little less depending on how filled you like them being careful not to overfill.  To close them I just joined the points being careful to seal the edges along the way.  Repeat until all your wonton wrappers are filled or until you run out of filling.

Place each wonton in a mini-muffin well and brush all of the wontons lightly with the remaining butter.  Sprinkle lightly with cinnamon sugar or turbinado sugar if desired.

Bake for 10-12 minutes until the edges are golden brown (or fry in 350° oil for about 1 minute).  Keep warm in 200° oven if not serving immediately.

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

4 responses »

  1. Christina Rodriguez

    It’s Thanksgiving morning, I have all ingredients for this dish. However, I do not have muffin pans, but I do have a deep fryer. How can I modify to make this work?? Please help! Happy Thanksgiving!

    Reply
    • I have another cream cheese wonton recipe on the blog. I didn’t deep fry them but I did fry them. Try using those specs maybe? Deep frying I just worry about filling bursting out.

      Reply
  2. Wow these look great

    Hope things go smoothly from now onwards with your newest pet addition

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

