RSS Feed

Sundays with Joy/Blueberry Orange and Almond Pancakes with Orange Maple Glaze

Posted on

The members of our group had been making these all week.  I had heard such good things that I thought they couldn’t live up to the hype.  Plus, the last few recipes were not just good but out of this world and I didn’t think the streak could continue.  Now you could see that as lack of faith in Joy, but everyone also said to make a double batch so I did.

So glad I did!  Everyone was right.  These are awesome!  These are in my top three of the Joy the Baker Cookbook recipes so far.  I eat blueberries but am not their biggest fan, I like almond extract but only in the “right” recipe, and I don’t tend to bake or cook with orange that often so I was skeptical.  However, I didn’t want to adapt because Joy said that it “must” be this flavor combination.  Next time I might want to switch it up with a little white whole wheat flour but that is just my preference.

If you look closely, you can see the orange zest!

Onto the glaze… One of our group members called it “liquid crack” and she couldn’t have been more right.  It is super duper sweet but at the same time TOTALLY and COMPLETELY complements the orange and the blueberry.  It makes the flavors pop SO much.  So much so that you keep adding more…and more…and just a bit more.  I even ate my sausages with it.

Now onto the kids’ verdicts.  The 9 year old loved them and ate everything I gave her.  She said that I put a few too many blueberries in it and she was right but there was only so many left in the container after I put the rest in the batter that I just ended up putting them all in.  The 3 year old didn’t eat them but I think it was just the look of cut up blueberries on his plate.  Onto the biggest critic and pickiest eater, my 5 year old, I made her one that didn’t have any blueberries in it because I knew that was an automatic no go for her.  I still wasn’t sure how she would react.  She ate it and she ate it quick.  Yay!  Now I can make these, leave out the blueberries for my crazy babies and my oldest and I can eat till our hearts’ content.

Again as always, if you want the recipe buy the Joy the Baker Cookbook and please check out our other members efforts by clicking on their links over at Bakeaholic Mama.

My GeekyLink has to do with the most awesome thing coming up next week!  We are going to land on Mars.  Hopefully… Giant rover to make ‘terrifying’ landing on Mars tells how this landing is different and more difficult and how by the time NASA gets the signal that the rover is beginning its landing the mission may already be a failure but there will be nothing they can do about it.  I hope they pull it off.

 

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

5 responses »

  1. Looks great … Happy Sunday 🙂

    Reply
  2. Your pancakes look fabulous! And looking at those sausage links is making me crave some for breakfast today. I haven’t eaten sausage in eons!

    Reply
  3. Love those pancakes! Everyone almost always pairs lemon and blueberry I love that you used orange. Wonderful idea and gorgeous pancakes.

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

