RSS Feed

Sundays with Joy/S’mores Brownies and Frickin Mars!!!

Posted on

Yadda, yadda, yadda mmmm yummy brownies.  Duh.  I can’t concentrate on anything today.  I am waiting for 10:31 PM PST.  I am waiting for it ALL DAY!  You have no idea how hard it is to write this post.  I just want to get my chores done for the day (which hopefully includes packing my girls to go away with their grandparents for 5 days, daddy is being a big baby about it) and spend the rest of the day searching for links or watching updates.  Breaking Bad?  I can DVR it and watch it tomorrow.  To prep for tonight I think I may watch my favorite episode of From the Earth to the Moon That’s All There Is (watch the first minute of this clip and you’ll get a feel for the whole episode).  Dave Foley, an all Navy crew (my husband was in the Navy) what else could you want?  Maybe Mars instead of the Moon but…whatever, space is awesome!  That episode is the main reason I love that series.  Ahhh, I can’t wait!  I hope it all goes well.

So if you haven’t guessed, this post is going to all be GeekyLinks and unfortunately not give enough attention to Joy’s fabulous S’mores Brownies.  But what else do you need to know except that they are S’mores Brownies!

So to start off did you know the Curiosty Rover has its own twitter handle?  Yup, @MarsCuriosity in case you were wondering.  There was already a Prelanding Update earlier this morning so check it out.  I have only seen a bit but believe me, that is what I am doing after I am finished writing this post.  Also, awesome astrophysicist Neil deGrasse Tyson, host of StarTalk (@neiltyson) actually had a twitter conversation with the rover yesterday and luckily the whole exchange survives on the internet.

NASA has released a few videos on the whole thing (no doubt they will be shown during the NASA JPL open house next year).  One narrated by Wil Wheaton who I now hate because of the envy in my heart at the fact that he will be at JPL for the landing.  I guess that is a perk of doing a voice over for NASA, whatever.  So get down with the excitement and the tension (my fingers are crossed so hard for this thing that I can’t type)!  Also, if you are reading this and are asking What Makes “Curiosity” Different from Other Rovers?, watch this and find out!  And watch the whole thing tonight (or early tomorrow morning depending on where you are) on NASA TV or on Ustream.

As always if you want the recipe for the brownies please buy Joy’s Cookbook.  I am not sure about the rest of the groups links, one of our group administrators had some technical difficulties this week so I will update the post if we get something up.  I hope you have a great night and I hope it involves staying up late and watching history!

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

One response »

  1. The toasted marshmallow on top looks delicious! My kids would love these.

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

