RSS Feed

Musings on Turning 35 and Totally Glossing Over My One Year Blogiversary

I know this post was supposed to be about last week and all the things that kept me busy but I just realized that I have some stuff going on this week that I thought I might share.

Sooo, last Saturday was my one year blogiversary…and I did nothing to celebrate.  No giveaway, not even a mention.  Mostly because that day was the culmination of all the work I did last week (that I haven’t told you about) but also because I am not sure I am ready to celebrate it quite yet.  I only have about 80+ posts and that really isn’t much for a year.  I feel like I need to do more and I will.  Sundays with Joy is helping me get an extra post in a week along with one or two of my own and hopefully that will help me grow, not just the blog, but me.  It is not just the task itself but the support group of people we have working in that group.  Just the best and most supportive people that I will never meet…at least anytime soon.

You can’t see it but this dress had a lovely accordion style pleated skirt.

Now onto my big milestone.  35.  I was 6 when my mother turned 35.  In first grade.  I can remember it and I can’t even fathom how I got here.  I remember the dress I wore for picture day that year.  It had the best pleats in any skirt EVER.  Looking at my kids now and knowing they will actually remember stuff I say and do from here on out is truly scary.  I see what I give up for them and know now what my parents gave up for me.  It is overwhelming and heartening.  Even at 35, I am by no means finished with “growing up” and yet I can see how the wheels work on this machine.  So here are some things I have learned over the years and they may not be true for you but are the very things that make me who I am.

My mother with my now 9 year old.

#1  Your parents are right.  At least mine were.  There is one thing my mom said to me that I still don’t necessarily agree with.  ONE.  Over her lifetime.  My dad just tries to make me and my kids happy the best he can all the time.  All I will ever want is for my kids to see me the way I see my parents, warts and all.

My dad corrupting my kids with candy, teaching them something new, and playing with them. What more could I ask for?

#2  Your siblings are the best things to ever happen to you.  My brother, still is and apparently always will be the quintessential big brother.  If I ever need help or someone to nag at me, there he is.  And my sister, well, I don’t have words.  She is ALL THE WORDS!

My brother and I getting ready for my baptism and my sister and I in our green and white checkered room.

#3  Marriage is hard.  People don’t ever tell you this till after you are married.  Also, my husband and I had it especially hard as newlyweds because he was in the Navy and after every deployment, even just for a week or a few days, there was always a period of adjustment when he came home.  I am fortunate, though, my husband, well, he is just IT.  I don’t get it, I doubt he gets it, but there it is.  When my husband and I look at where our little family is now, we totally freak out about how we got to this place but it makes us supremely happy and feels just a bit lucky.

I let him pick out the picture of us from our wedding, figures he picks the one of myself I like the least.

#4  Don’t have kids right away.  Or try not to.  This was actually something I didn’t listen to.  My husband and I tried for four years to get pregnant with no luck.  It didn’t help that for the first two years he would leave every so often or be gone for six months.  Then we got our first kitty, Clyde, and I got pregnant the following month.  Looking back, those years without kids really cemented us.  We had fun, parties, fought, made up, lived with a roommate, moved lots and had way more disposable income.  I wouldn’t trade it for anything.  Well, except my kids.

From one of our parties, I have my arm around our roommate and am surrounded by some of the most fun guys ever. They let me tag along quite a bit, probably because I made my husband feed them something other than chips.

#5  It is never to late to change EVERYTHING.  This whole blogging thing was definitely a leap of faith for me.  I mean, I started it at 4 am in the middle of the first week of school last year when I had no business starting anything new.  Let alone anything new where I didn’t know what the heck I was doing and was gonna have to wing it.  Even now, a year later and over 80 posts in, I am not sure what the end game is for this or even if there is one.  I am kind of just along for the ride and I am really digging it so far…

Well, I hope you enjoyed me talking at you.  I hope you will let me do it from time to time along with some good food and nerdy amusement.

35…I don’t really feel old, it doesn’t seem productive and in reality I am not. But seeing other people you know grow up, get older, how things move on it really is just kind of weird.

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

11 responses »

  1. Happy belated bday and happy blogiversary of one awesomely nerdy and delicious blog!

    Reply
  2. Happy Blogiversary! I think 80+ blogposts in one year is pretty amazing! I’m approaching my first year very soon, and the number of posts I have pales in comparison to yours. Don’t look at the numbers; look at the journey. You are a wonderful writer, and a great baker. Keep up the good work. Oh, and a Happy Birthday to young lady!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  3. israel Cedillo

    Celina, 35 years went by too fast. I read all your posts and I like the way you write cause you make things very interesting. You must have gotten that talent from your MOM. Love, DAD

    Reply
  4. Excellent post! I love reading your blog and I look forward to seeing many more posts from you. Hope you have a very Happy B-day, glad you finally caught up to my age 😛 Oh, and make sure you do something fun today or at least this weekend! 🙂 ❤

    Reply
  5. Love this! Gives me hope that I haven’t totally screwed up my kids, and that they now ‘get’ how truly precious and priceless they are!

    Reply
  6. Great post this week. Made me cry a bit. You are a wonderful writer. Happy birthday!!

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

