RSS Feed

Sundays with Joy/Apple Pie Crostata

This week’s Sundays with Joy had me a bit confounded.  I swear you have to be genius to crimp your crostata edges perfectly!  About half of mine came undone a little bit but hey it adds to the whole rustic appeal of this dessert.  The crust was flaky and yet still totally sturdy enough pick up with your hands.  And who doesn’t want to eat a pie with just their hands?

As for any changes I would have made?  Well, one of the people in our group suggested some cinnamon in the dough, so I did that. Well, that was the best smelling dough ever!  Also, I think this recipe would better make six crostatas as opposed to eight. They would have been a bit bigger and I would have only eaten one (maybe). I also think that with six I might have been able to use a bit more filling.  I had buttloads left over.

My topping didn’t come out quite as well the picture in the cookbook but I think that is because it sat in the fridge for too long. You see, I woke up early and made all the components for the crostata then took my kids to the movies.  We got home and I finished putting my crostatas together and the last one finished baking about five minutes before the season premiere of Doctor Who.  After watching Doctor Who twice, Serenity was on cable and I finished out the night watching River kill all the Reavers!  It was a good day.

As always, if you want the recipe, you need to buy the cookbook.  Don’t forget to check out Bakeaholic Mama to see what others in our group have done.  I know Carrie herself has a wild adaptation.  My GeekyLink for today is regarding Breaking Bad.  First off I just want to say that I am super proud of myself.  The Breaking Bad Podcast I listen to has had spoilers for two weeks and this girl is a spoiler lover but I watch this show with my husband (well, okay, not together it is on while he is at work but we do talk about it) and I knew if I had any extra information that I would be bursting at the seams.  So I decided to stay away from the spoilers and I am happy to say that I am spoiler free with only five or so hours to go!  Also, the Story Sync that AMC has going on during the show is pretty sweet.


About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

3 responses »

  1. Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this site. It’s simple, yet effective.
    A lot of times it’s difficult to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and visual appeal. I must say you have done a fantastic job with this. Additionally, the blog loads extremely quick for me on Chrome. Exceptional Blog!

    Reply
  2. I love making crostata and yours reminds me of my favorite time of year, Fall!! What cook book did you use? I enlarged the picture but couldn’t tell. How is your kitty? I imagine the pin came out and everything is good now. I love a free form tart it’s very forgiving and like you said even if it’s a little less than perfect it adds to the rustic quality. I can’t wait for apples to hit the farmers market!!

    Reply
    • It is Joy the Baker’s cookbook. Yup the pin is out. She is fine but needs to go back for her final check up. Yeah, I think the crostata makes for a great fall dessert (or late summer).

      Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

