RSS Feed

Sundays with Joy/Baked Chili Cheese Fries

Sooo the one week in quite a while that I didn’t get my Sundays with Joy post at some point on a Sunday, Joy joins us and posts the recipe on her blog.  I guess I’d better get it up now.

These fries.  Joy made chili cheese fries with all the flavor of chili cheese fries but without the chili.  I knew I was going to like these fries so right off, I made a double batch.  That also allowed me to play with the seasonings a bit because I know Joy likes heat.  I like less heat.  I added some garlic powder, used only half of the red chili flakes, cayenne, and chili powder.  I was also making these for dinner and I was just trying to make sure that the heat was such that the kids would eat them and the husband would still like them.  I am in the middle on that spectrum.  I kinda failed.

It still ended up being way to hot for the little kids, although my oldest fought the heat because the flavor was so good.  She ate her portion in two halves with a juice in between.  I came up with a more ingenious solution if I do say so myself.  I ate it with sour cream!  It cut the heat and made them super yummy.  That addition, I think, officially made those fries a meal in the tradition of regular chili cheese fries or carne asada fries.

As for the husband who will routinely not eat my food if he feels he won’t like it (SUCH a great example for the kids, I know), he had no problem warming up a plate and gobbling it all down when he got home from work.   Do I think he would have liked more heat?  Probably.  Sometimes you can’t please everybody.

As usual if you would like the recipe, please buy the cookbook!  The recipe is a tad different than on the blog.  Don’t forget to check out Bakeaholic Mama site for everyone else’s takes on the recipe.  I hear Carrie made chips and someone else made animal fries!

My GeekyLink for this week is the news that WonderCon is slated to be in Anaheim again this year.  The only reason I didn’t go last year is because I found out about it too late and because that weekend it was raining cats and dogs, I mean serious buckets.  So I am going to get my badge soon, hope I can snag some tickets, and hope that at the last minute it is not returned to the bay area (Sorry, Alyssa).

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

3 responses »

  1. This is awesome, i have to make it, love it 🙂

    Reply
  2. It looks delicious! I have a feeling that it would be very popular in my house, even with my extremely picky twins.

    Reply
  3. 😀 Those look FANTASTIC! Oh man. This one is going in my “stuff I make when I have a cheat day” file! And you’ll just have to take a whole bunch of pics for my when you’re at WonderCon, since we’ll probably be either in a house, or about to be in a house!!

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

