RSS Feed

Tea, Earl Grey, Shortbread Cookies

Ugh, although fall may bring with it the flavors of pumpkins, cinnamon, apples, and cranberries, it also brings with it the responsibilities of school, soccer, dance, homework, and doctors appointments.  In the summer, I could still fake dinner.  I didn’t have to have anything ready because anytime I could go pick up some stuff and start it.  Now, I have to plan everything because I have to be here at this time or there at that time.  I hate that.  That is the antithesis of my personality.

It turned out to be a really easy dough to work with.

I am the mom whose kids from the ages of 0-4 don’t know what a schedule is.  If you are napping and I want to go somewhere, I will wake you up.  If you are up late, guess what?  Mommy is too.  Like my mom before me, if we have the time and/or the money we will do something special just because.  Going to the park, the movies, driving to use our Knott’s passes, or simply letting everyone get their own Slurpee cause it is so darn hot are the best times I have with my kids.  Sometimes just spending a Saturday or Sunday afternoon playing Lego Harry Potter with my 9 year old makes life worth living for me.

Intellectually, I understand why the structure of school and after school activities is important.  My mom brain, though, just kind of wants to hang out with my kids and get to know them a little better.  I also had been avoiding making appointment my kids have needed for awhile because I was just trying to hold off the driving everywhere for as long as I could.  Unfortunately for me, that now means a three month wait for the dentist instead of the two week wait I am used to (seriously? what happened? grrr….).  Angela and I will probably get new glasses soon (after she casually mentioned that she lost them, then claimed they may be behind her desk), after Robert’s physical he will start preschool (yeah, I held off on that appointment for pretty obvious reasons: my baby, my last one, and preschool, ahhh!), and Sarah will have her first eye exam.

All of this won’t hinder the baking, but the blogging…we shall see.  I hope not.  I think I am going to have to get on a schedule, ugh.

My GeekLink for this week is more like a rant.  I don’t get why the organizers for The Star Trek & Sci-Fi Summit decided to have this shindig on the same weekend as Gallifrey One.  I guess they are trying to maximize the people they would get coming from out of town.  I don’t know.  I am pretty sure both shows have fan bases that overlap but neither fan base would want to miss anything either.  I know I wouldn’t.  I am super bummed because frickin Sir Patrick Stewart is going to be there. Unfortunately for him, Sir Derek Jacobi is going to win this round cause I am going to Gallifrey One.

Earl Grey Shortbread Cookies

barely adapted from Savory Simple

Ingredients

3/4 cup unsalted butter, cut into small pieces and at room temperature

1/2 cup powdered sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 scant tablespoon Earl Grey tea, around three tea bags (I ran mine through my mini chopper to make sure there were no big pieces)

1 3/4 cup all purpose flour

Method

Cream the butter, sugar, and salt in the bowl of a stand mixer till light and fluffy.

Add the vanilla and the tea and mix well combined

Slowly add the flour, mixing slowly until the flour is completely incorporated.

Turn out the dough onto a lightly floured surface and roll out into 1/2 inch thickness (or you can roll it out in between two pieces of parchment paper).  Using a 2 inch round cookie cutter, cut out the cookies and place onto a parchment lined baking sheet.  Combine the scraps, reroll, and cut out more cookies until all the dough is used up.  Mine all fit onto one baking sheet.

Chill the unbaked cookies in the fridge for at least 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 350°.

Bake the cookies for 23-28 minutes or until slightly brown on some edges.  Allow to cool to room temperature.

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

5 responses »

  1. Yum yum!! 😀 these shortbread cookies look delish!!

    I recently made matcha shortbread cookies which turned out pretty great so am on the prowl for more ‘tea-flavored’ cookies. and these are definitely next on my list!

    It’s fun reading about what life as a mom is like for you. 😀 though it’s definitely different from the life i’m leading now (still studying!) but I’m pretty close to my relatives who live in Seattle and whenever I visit I end up spending tons of time with my Aunt and my two cousins who are a little older than your kids (7 and 10) but always seem to be shuttling from one activity to another! And I can understand how busy it must be for you now that it’s Fall. 🙂 hang in there!!

    Reply
    • Thank you so much for commenting and I hope you like the cookies! And yup now the little ones say they want to try soccer too! I only have one more appointment to get through next week and then their next isn’t till December. Let’s hope it stays calm till then. We shall see…

      Reply
  2. Those cookies are right up my alley! I’m not the best baker (the chemistry of baking doesn’t always work out for me), but shortbread is something I can do. My shortbread cookies always turn out well, and this is a nice variation. We’re big tea drinkers in our house, too, and I love how this cookie compliments a steaming cup of Earl Grey Tea. It’s perfect for fall. Thanks for sharing! Good luck adjusting to a new routine. My oldest are in their final year of preschool, and I’m sure that kindergarten will be a tough adjustment to our schedule come next fall.

    Reply
    • Glad you have good luck with shortbread. This is by far the best one I’ve found.
      As far a schedules, I mean I’m glad summer is over but i feel like there should be more of a period of adjustment before things get crazy.

      Reply
      • I’m glad to hear that it’s the best one you’ve found. I’m looking forward to trying it, and I can see myself experimenting with different variations of earl grey (lady grey, blueflower earl grey, etc). Very exciting!

        Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

