RSS Feed

Pineapple Coconut Bars

Pineapple Coconut Bars
I am not ready for fall.  I usually LOVE it.  I don’t know what my problem is.  I was so mad at my husband the other day for getting out the Halloween decorations and he even put them up.  OK, mostly I was mad that he didn’t put everything up and now there is a box in the middle of my living room that the two little ones have been getting into but, I digress…

Everybody is posting pumpkin recipes and recipes with lots of cinnamon and spice and…I’m just not there yet.  Maybe I’m just unsatisfied with myself that I didn’t try as many new recipes during the summer that I would’ve liked, maybe it’s only because it is still too darn hot in So Cal, I don’t know.  It’s not that I don’t like pumpkin.  I would’ve said I didn’t a few years ago but then I found a recipe that slowly made me appreciate it and it evolved into making my own pumpkin pies and really loving them.  Whereas years earlier if I ever ate a slice of pumpkin pie it would be for the mountain of whipped cream that I would plop on top to go with it.

Crust, then with the first thin layer of topping, and then…all done.

I don’t know.  Does it sound like I am trying to convince myself to “get into” fall?  Maybe so.  But when my local supermarket had pineapple on sale last week, that meant I still had a week to avoid it.  I went full on tropical summer vacation with this one.  I used the crust from those Scarlet O’Hara Pecan Pie Bars that I had made before.  If I had thought more ahead I would have put macadamia nuts in the crust instead of the pecans but the crust was still as lovely as I remember.  The topping was nice and sweet without much additional sugar either, just lovely and pretty easy too.

My GeekyLink for today is something that I had never heard of before this week.  But luckily for me, I am on Twitter and follow lots of people that live in the U.K.  Everyone this week was tweeting about a show called Red Dwarf.  From their website, “First broadcast in 1988, Red Dwarf is a half-hour science-fiction sit-com.”  Hmm…with new episodes…?  I just might have to get on this train.

Also, I am working on a Recipe Index so be on the lookout for it!

Pineapple Coconut Bars

adapted from Pear Crumb Bars and Scarlett Ohara Pecan Bars

Ingredients

Crust

1/4 cup butter

1/4 cup coconut oil

1/4 cup sugar

1 1/4 cup flour

1/4 cup ground pecans

Pineapple Coconut Topping

1/4 cup pureed pineapple

1/2 tablespoon brown sugar

1 teaspoon coconut oil

2 cups diced pineapple chunks

2 tablespoons brown sugar, or less or more depending on the sweetness of your pineapple

2 teaspoons cornstarch

2 tablespoons lemon juice

2/3 cup shredded unsweetened coconut, divided in half

Method

For the Crust

Preheat oven to 350°.  Combine butter and oil and sugar in the bowl of a stand mixer until everything is incorporated.  Add in all of the flour and mix on slow until the flour is fully incorporated as well.  Fold in the ground pecans.  Press evenly into an ungreased 8×8 pan.  Bake for 18-22 minutes.

While the crust is baking, prepare the pineapple topping.

Pineapple Topping

In a small bowl, mix together the pureed pineapple, teaspoon coconut oil, and 1/2 tablespoon brown sugar.  Once the crust has cooled spread this mixture in a thin onto the crust first, before the rest of the topping.

In a medium saucepan, whisk together the cornstarch, lemon juice and the rest of the brown sugar.  Add the two cups of pineapple and 1/3 cup of coconut to the mixture and cook on medium low heat until the mixture is thickened.  Once it is thickened, pour onto your cooled crust with the thin layer of pureed pineapple already on it.  Top with the remaining coconut.

Bake at 350° for 20-25 minutes.  To get that coconut golden, once your bars are finished baking, place your pan under the broiler for about 3 minutes turning every minute or so.  At this stage, DO NOT walk away from your oven or you WILL burn your coconut.

Let cool completely and cut into bars for serving.  I liked cutting them smaller for better snacking.

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

2 responses »

  1. The recipe looks great, definitely a good enough reason to postpone fall for a little longer.
    Red Dwarf was great for a while, some of the later series paled a little.
    Mainly after one person left and another came back (spoilers).

    Just don’t ever watch the US remake – very bad.

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

