RSS Feed

Sundays with Joy/My Top 5 So Far

This week on Sundays with Joy was a catch up week.  We keep getting more and more people in our group and they need some time to catch up on a few recipes.  So I decided I would take the time and give you my top 5 recipes from the Joy the Baker Cookbook so far and why and with a few honorable mentions.

Number 5–Blueberry Orange and Almond Pancakes with Orange Maple Glaze

This recipe was one that I headed into with some trepidation.  It just seemed like so much for a little pancake to handle.  However, this recipe turned out to be a revelation.  All the flavors just went SO well together.  We had this for dinner initially and even my 9 year old was completely won over.

Number 4–Perfect Kettle Corn

I am wondering if this is low on my list because it is SO simple.  It made the list though, because it is simplicity at its finest: sweet and salty and quick and yummy.

Number 3–Chocolate Raspberry Fudge Pops 

I made these with banana chunks but I am sure they would have been just as great with raspberries.  I ate too many of these to mention and I LOVED every bite.  These are definitely going to be a summer staple treat for the kids.  Very simple, very yummy and the kind of treat that if the kids forget about them you may feel guilty for finishing them off but the moment passes quickly.

Number 2–Kale Spinach Banana Peanut Butter Smoothie

I put this recipe high because no one believes me when I tell them that after a sip or two (to get used to the green in it), it turns into a FANTASTIC peanut butter banana smoothie.  The bonus is the charge of energy after you have finished it.  It tastes good, and is good for you.  It is a few more steps for me since I don’t like to use my blender but I have made this a couple of times since the first time and the extra steps are worth it!

Number 1–Brown Butter Blueberry Muffins

I actually made these muffins for the blog long before I joined this group.  This is one of the few recipes that Joy has on her blog and in her book.  These muffins are life changing and unbelievable!  The best blueberry muffin recipe hands down that the world has to offer.  For the top slot on this list, this was a NO BRAINER.

Honorable Mentions

Coffee Vanilla Ice Cream Pie–I love that this lasted so long in my freezer.  Even though, after the first time the crust was a little hard to get out of the pie pan (next time I won’t use glass, that should help) the crust was the best thing about this recipe.  I had never made a meringue crust before and the citrus in it played off the vanilla and coffee ice cream so well, I couldn’t even believe it.  Sometimes its the simplest things…

Chocolate Covered Coconut Macaroon Ice Cream–Even though it was a pain for me to make because I couldn’t get a hold of an ice cream maker, it was so worth it.  Up until this recipe, I tolerated coconut.  This recipe made me LIKE it.

I hope you like this list.  If you disagree or agree, let me know.  Do you have the cookbook yet?  What are your favorites?  Don’t forget this is just based on what we have made so far.  I have made one or two things that we haven’t blogged about and I may already have a contender for the next list.

My GeekyLink today has to do with food.  I must admit I throw whatever in my refrigerator drawers and don’t move the dial at all.  I wouldn’t know what I was doing.  Now I do.  From The Kitchn comes The Proper Way To Use Your Refrigerator Humidity Drawers.

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

6 responses »

  1. Pingback: Sundays with Joy/Dark Chocolate Ganache Tart with Fresh Berries and Sweetened Cream « * NerdyBaker *

  2. Pingback: Sundays with Joy/Orange Gingerbread Squares with Cream Cheese Frosting « * NerdyBaker *

  3. I am so happy that you posted your favorites since I joined a couple moths ago! Have to make all of these! Nettie

    Reply
  4. Everything looks so good. The ice cream pie has my name written all over it!

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

