RSS Feed

Biscoff Pretzel Cookies

Sometimes the development of recipes comes easy, like my Mexican Chocolate Cookies. I was able to figure out how I wanted to adapt it, I tried it, and it turned out great! Others can take up to three times or so (luckily I haven’t gone past that, knock on wood) to get right like my Nutty Bar Cookies. This cookie was one of the latter. Don’t get me wrong, the ones that didn’t work were edible but with both attempts they were overall way too sweet. I changed tactics a bit and finally gotta cookie I was really happy with.

Now overall I am an optimist, that is why on the first two attempts I made full batches of cookies. After throwing out most of them, I became the pragmatist my parents raised me to be and on my third attempt I only made a half batch. It figures that’s the one that worked.   Also, I guess I had been slacking on bringing treats to my daughters’ dance studio so I ended up giving away about half of the cookies that I did make.

Whatever…I am going to make these again, and soon, and I am going to keep them all! Also, this is my second cookie recipe with pretzels in them and I have decided that there need to be more. I also want to thank Shutterbean and Joy the Baker for their wonderful and hilarious podcast that gave me the inspiration for these cookies. On one of the episodes a few months back, Tracy mentioned eating cookie butter (aka Biscoff spread depending on where you get it) with pretzels. Now, I was a newbie to cookie butter at the time, I was only eating it by the spoonful which actually ended up being much less than when I got stated with the pretzels. I am telling you now, DONT GET STARTED WITH THE PRETZELS! Just make some cookies.

Do not do this! If you find yourself doing this, put the pretzel down! Once you get started you cannot stop. You have been warned.


My GeekyLink for this week is The Walking Dead people!  I saw some new trailer this week but I can’t find it so I just put up the AMC link for the show.  You know what else comes with The Walking Dead?  Talking Dead, hosted by my favorite nerd woman crush, Chris Hardwick.  Another one of my favorite things that comes with The Walking Dead is the Watching Dead podcast from the guys at Bald Move.  I love these guys mostly just because they podcast about the best shows on TV: Mad Men, Game of Thrones, Justified, Breaking Bad, and  The Walking Dead (OK, so there was a short lived Jersey Shore podcast for awhile but everyone makes mistakes).  The only one of those shows I don’t watch is Game of Thrones and I was this close to watching once I found out these guys had a podcast around it.  They are critical but not mean (mostly) and love the shows but they are not by any means fanboys (except a bit with Breaking Bad).  Check them out, you won’t regret it. And have fun watching The Walking Dead on Sunday!

Biscoff Pretzel Cookies

adapted from Crunchy Cornflake Cookies

Ingredients

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 cup softened butter

1/2 cup Biscoff spread, or Cookie Butter

1 cup brown sugar

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 1/2 cup crushed pretzels

Method

Preheat oven to 350°.

Whisk together flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon in a medium bowl and set aside.

Mix together the butter, biscoff, and brown sugar till creamy and well combined.  Add your eggs, one at a time, mixing in completely after each addition.  Add vanilla and mix on low until thoroughly incorporated.  Fold in the pretzels.

Drop your dough by heaping tablespoonfuls onto parchment paper lined baking sheets and flatten your dough balls slightly.

Bake at 350° for 11-13 minutes.  Cool slightly on the baking sheet before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

3 responses »

  1. I think I am the only person in the world who has never tasted Biscoff, i have heard so much about it and how wonderful it is. I have to try it, those cookies look fantastic!!

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

