RSS Feed

Sundays with Joy/Peanut Butter Birthday Cake with the Best Chocolate Buttercream Frosting

I finished putting together this cake on one of the busiest and most fun days I’ve had in awhile. Some friends of ours needed someone to watch their kids for the day and most Sundays include my kids and I just hanging out and having a lazy day so I offered. I know how hard it is to unload 3 kids so I didn’t hesitate. The only time don’t feel guilty about leaving them with someone is when my dad watches mine because he makes it look so easy. My son could set his house on fire and dad would laugh and say he was just being a boy.

I mix my Ovaltine and cream in this shaker and it gets so nice and thick and yummy. I almost try and make sure I don’t use it all in the frosting.

But I’ve known these kids since forever and two of them since before they were born, in fact, the last two times their mom and I were pregnant together. When our oldest girls were dancing at age 4, she had her son and I had my Sarah. The next year I had Bob first and she had her second little girl a few months later. So I figured with a kid a piece, it would be smooth sailing. It was! Everybody played a little with everyone and I even got the big girls to play with some Play Dough (which made me so happy I couldn’t even tell you). I let them make their own pizzas for dinner and then everyone got a slice of this cake.  The only time it got to be a bit much was when all of the sudden it was 8 pm and I had to get 6 kids ready for bed in an hour with baths/showers included.  I basically just ran up and down the stairs that whole time.

Back to the cake. everyone liked it but both boys DEVOURED it.  Bob just about had a panic attack when he saw me clearing plates.  He ran back to his spot and made sure he got his last bite.  Also, this week I figured since we were doing a cake that I would finally buy a cake stand.  It is okay if I don’t used one for my cakes but…this wasy’s Joy’s cake.  So I went to our new Home Goods that I had been looking for an excuse to go see.  I only found a couple of cake stands and only one I liked.  However, I also found a marked down copy of Dorie Greenspan’s Baking: From My Home to Yours.  I was torn but eventually (seriously I walked the isles for an hour debating) the book won.  I have only gone through half of it and am already so excited!  More and more and more baking!

The only picture I have of the entire frosted cake.

As always please buy the Joy the Baker Cookbook: 100 Simple and Comforting Recipes.  It has already given me so many wonderful surprises and I can’t wait to see what else we get to make!  Check out Bakeaholic Mama and see what spin other bloggers have put on this wonderful cake.  Indigo Scones cake looks so pretty, I can’t even tell you!

Your GeekyLink for today is Story of the Week: Free Fall.  If you were at all enthralled as I was by Felix Baumgartner’s flight last week, check out the story of Lieutenant Colonel William H. Rankin.  Fifty years ago he ejected from his plane without a pressure suit about nine miles above sea level and into a storm.  The link leads to an excerpt from the book that recounts that particular story.  See if you can get passed the part about his distended full term pregnant looking belly or the blood coming from all orifices…

Then eat some cake.

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

2 responses »

  1. EEEWWWW! I was totally drooling over the great mouth watering cake and then you had to ruin it by talking about distended bellies and blood coming from orifices! Thanks a lot!! Gross!

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

