RSS Feed

Pesto Bread with Sun Dried Tomatoes and Some Halloween Goodies

Happy Halloween folks!  I figured today is as good as any for my first midweek post in two weeks.  I’m bringing you my Pesto Bread that I made awhile back plus a few goodies I made for a party that my oldest had at her school the other day.  They were fall/Halloween goodies but the party was more of a celebration than a Halloween party.  It was for her class from last year. That class did the best in the school on their state test including three girls that got perfect math scores (one may have been related to me).

The best thing about the Candy Corn Cookies are the scraps, ugly but still tasty! Chocolate Chip cookies and Eyeball Oreo Truffles.

Apparently the entire class remembered the eyeball Oreo truffles I made last year and they were requested.  I figured that the Candy Corn Cookies were easy and kept the theme so I made a batch of those.  Lastly, I made a chocolate chip cookie that I added fall M&Ms to at my husband’s suggestion.  When he came home he was floored that I actually listened to him and had some left over just for him.

Making recipes…

I don’t really like making the Oreo truffles (I am the WORST at dipping things in chocolate) but the kids requested it so I did it.  I didn’t get to chill the chocolate chip cookie dough as long as I’d have liked but it’s kinda hard to screw up a chocolate chip cookie.  The Candy Corn Cookies were just as easy as I remembered except next time I am lining my baking pan with parchment (for when the dough chills) because the plastic wrap just wasn’t cutting it.  The dough ended up being really difficult to get out of the pan.

Soft dough, warm dough, little ball of flour…

Onto the bread, I just did the opposite of my Tomato Basil bread (seeing the pesto paste on the shelf at the store gave me the idea).  It was an experiment that worked and I LOVE it when that happens on the first try.  This also was another bread like that one that screamed, “Make me a grilled cheese out of me!”  So I did!  If you like bread that is bursting with flavor than this is the one for you.

My GeekyLink for this week is going to have to be for next year, like last year when I posted the Candy Corn Cookies after Halloween.  Just click the link and save it or pin it so you don’t forget.  A Plethora of Pumpkin Patterns from GeekMom.  My favorite link that they had there and where I got all my pumpkin patterns for this year came from ThinkGeek.  And for any family members (whenever we pick names) this is where you need to shop for me, k?  Once I get a better picture of all our pumpkins I will post them on my Facebook page.  Everyone have a safe and fun Halloween!

So pretty on the inside too!

Pesto Bread with Sun Dried Tomatoes

adapted from NerdyBaker

Ingredients

1 pkg yeast (2 1/4 teaspoons)

3/4 cup warm water (105°-110°)

1/4 cup diced sun dried tomatoes

1/4 cup grated Parmesan

3 tablespoons pesto paste

1 tablespoon sugar

1 tablespoon olive oil, plus more for greasing the bowl and baking sheet

1 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon of your favorite Italian seasoning

2 1/4-2 2/3 cups bread flour

 
Method
In a large mixing bowl, dissolve yeast and sugar in the warm water.  Let it sit for 10 minutes.
Stir in sun dried tomatoes, pesto paste, Parmesan cheese, tomato paste, oil, salt, seasoning and 2 cups flour.  Stir in enough remaining flour, if needed, to form a stiff dough.
Turn dough out onto a floured surface and knead until smooth and elastic, about 3-5 minutes.  Place dough into a greased bowl, turning once to grease top.  Cover and let rise in a warm place until doubled, about 1 hour.
Punch down dough.  Knead for 1 minute.  Shape into a round loaf.  Place on a greased baking sheet.  Cover and let rise until doubled, about 1 hour.
Preheat oven to 375°
With a sharp knife, cut a large “X” in top of loaf.  Bake for 35-40 minutes or until golden brown.  Remove from pan to a wire rack to cool.
About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

Let me know your thoughts...

