RSS Feed

Sundays with Joy/Pecan Pralines

Sugar is not my friend.  Well, let me clarify…sugar in a batter or a dough is my BEST friend but sugar on the stovetop?  We have issues.  Don’t get me wrong I love a good caramel, candy, brittle, or butterscotch but sometimes when you play with sugar you get BURNED.  And if you’re like me (a little tentative about it because of accidents, wasted ingredients, and overall lack of experience) it can be a bit daunting.

I went into this recipe with a positive attitude but I should have gone in with a more pragmatic one.  Pecans are expensive and even though I used this recipe as an excuse to buy the two pound bag from Costco (for all the holiday recipes!) I know my issues with sugar and should have halved the recipe just in case.  Alas, I lost my first batch.  I halved it the second time and even though I overlooked the sugar the teeniest bit nothing was lost and I ended up stress eating most of my pralines on Election Day.  I made myself stop short of eating them all though because I hadn’t taken pictures yet (and my waistline thanks my procrastination).  And I can take the rest to my daughters’ dance studio today ensuring I don’t eat them all.

It wasn’t just anxiety that made me eat most of these pralines, they were pretty dang good too.  I’ll be honest, once I made them I didn’t want to eat them because I was mad at the loss of pecans with the earlier batch.  Yup that is right, I didn’t want to like them.  I was holding a grudge. But, of course, they were amazing and once I started eating them I didn’t want to stop.  How could I have doubted Joy?

As always check out Bakeaholic Mama’s page to see what some of the rest of us have done with this recipe.  And if you want the recipe, buy Joy’s amazing cookbook.  One more note, we are changing our schedule to accommodate everyone’s increasingly busy holiday schedule.  We are only going to make Joy recipes every other week for awhile, so no Sundays with Joy next week.  Hopefully I can supplement and keep up a two post a week schedule but we shall see…fingers crossed!

If you have or know little kids (okay, babies even) that can use an smart phone better than you and it blows your mind check out this GeekyLink.  Check out what these Ethiopian kids did with NO instruction, not even open boxes!

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

4 responses »

  1. Looks like success, your caramel looks perfect. What a yummy election night snack they must have been. I have never made caramel but am dying to give a try.

    Reply
  2. I would have eaten them all in a sec, still have to make mine, since I ate two batches of the cashews, I am really hesitant! You are so lucky to have Costco, pecans are so dang expensive, miss my tree in LA!! Nettie

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

