RSS Feed

Chewy Blondies and Running Out of Time

I only had to make these twice.  No fault of my own, I made my adaptations and they were good and all would have been fine but my daughter had her soccer party the night I made these and time ran out and I couldn’t finish baking them.  However, remember when I talked about happy accidents?  The same thing here.  I added 3/4 of the add ins called for in this recipe and even with the undercooked batch I HAD to taste them.   I realized that there still were too many for me.  I really wanted to go for more of a “plain” blondie.  I love these now and am super glad I had the opportunity to adjust them!

Man, time is just getting away from me lately.  I made the blondies last week.  I wanted to post on Sunday but it just didn’t happen.  Last week was filled with trimester awards for my girls during the week and early morning participating in the 100 Mile Club.  They run for about 30 minutes but I have to stay there and walk my kindergardener to class because they start 10 minutes before the rest of the school and that is about 2-3 laps that her big sister would be behind.  The girls had Friday and Monday off and those were big work days for me and the kids.  Friday, I gave the girls a list of things to get done and all the kids and I cleaned the house.  Saturday, as always, is soccer.  Even though my daughter’s season just ended I still have two nephews that I gotta see through to playoffs!  Sunday we rented movies and stayed in but that day I tried to rest.  Monday was awesome!  My son’s preschool was still open and so I took him to school but then I took my girls to breakfast.  I had no business spending that kind of money on breakfast (I mean Christmas is coming up for goodness sake) but one thing my mom taught me is no matter how much money we didn’t have, we always had money when an opportunity to do something special came up.  Justin called us during breakfast wondering where we were and he understood.  He didn’t even make me bring him breakfast back.

The picture on the left is with one cup of chocolate and butterscotch chips and walnuts EACH. On the right is the one I prefer with just a half cup of each.

On the way back home, we returned our movies and rented Just Dance 4.  It is killing the 9 year old that we don’t have it yet and after the kids played it for awhile, it is kind of killing me too.  I actually haven’t gotten to play it yet and we kept it an extra day.  I need to sneak a session in because I have to return it today.

O yeah, did your realize Thanksgiving is next week?  Let’s just say at some point this week I realized it and began to panic just a little bit.  So I will have this week’s Sundays with Joy and that will probably be it till after Thanksgiving and then I can show you all the things I am making for that.  If you want a sneak peek of some of what I may be making, check out my This Week board on my Pinterest page.  There is one more pie that is in a cookbook that I am especially making for my dad, but other than that the board has all that I hope to bake for Thanksgiving.  I actually think I might get to make desserts this year!  Usually I get rolls, which if you know how much I am in LOVE with bread is not a bad thing either.  Speaking of bread, I believe my sourdough starter is finally done and I am making a sponge tonight and my first sourdough of the fall tomorrow!!!   I really want to make a sandwich with it but we have all gone so long without it that I do believe we will just tear into it and eat it outright.  I can’t wait!

Yes, I brought up Christmas earlier.  Your GeekyLinks today, add to my growing frustration over what to get my oldest.  Not that I don’t know what to get her, I know EVERYTHING to get her.  It is hard not to JUST BUY ALL THE THINGS!  So here now, in addition to Doctor Who stuff, My Little Pony stuff, she wants “real” Legos (we’ve got buttloads of Duplos for the under 6 set) are some gifts that cater to her love of reading.  Also, when we got our iPad, all my husband used it for was to read.  Now he plays an annoying soccer game that he is always yelling at so to get him back to reading I think I am going to get him some gift cards for eBooks.  Last year, he had a big list of books he wanted but I gotta pay attention right now to determine what he wants this year.

Chewy Blondies

adapted from Baking: From My Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan

Ingredients

2 1/4 cup flour

3/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 sticks (1 cup) unsalted butter, at room temperature

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup light brown sugar

1/2 cup dark brown sugar

2 eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla

1/2 cup chocolate chips

1/2 cup butterscotch chips

1/2 cup coarsely chopped walnuts

Method

Preheat oven to 350°.  Grease a 9×13 pan and set aside.

In a small bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt and set aside.

Place the butter in the bowl of a stand mixer and mix on medium speed till smooth and creamy.  Add the sugars and mix for about 3 minutes or till thoroughly combined.  Add the eggs, one at a time beating after each addition for one minute.  Add the vanilla and mix until thoroughly incorporated.

With the mixer on low, slowly add the dry ingredients (or since I hate using the guard, shut it off and add the dry ingredients in two additions mixing on low) and mix until the dry ingredients are no longer visible.  Scrape down your bowl and mix in any other bits by hand.  Add your add ins and mix with a rubber spatula until they are all evenly distributed.  *NOTE -The original recipe calls for up to a cup of each add in, even a cup of shredded coconut as well so feel free to add to your hearts content.

Using your spatula spread the batter as evenly as possible into your 9×13 pan.  The original recipe calls for you to bake for 40 minutes and until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean.  It took me about 15 minutes longer.  I was worried that the blondies would darken too much but they didn’t.  They were still a lovely brown.  So be patient, your knife WILL come out clean.

Cool completely before serving.

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

2 responses »

  1. Love the looks of this! Who doesn’t need a nice, simple chewy blondies recipe?!

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

