RSS Feed

Sundays with Joy/Strawberry Lemon Bars (Lavender Lemon Bars)

Strawberry Lemon Bars-Nerdybaker.wordpress.com

Well, who can find lavender on a couple of days notice?  Not me anyway.  I went to a couple of places.  I made a few calls.  No luck.  I ended up adapting the recipe to make Strawberry Lemon Bars.  That wasn’t my only issue.

The other issue was my pictures.  I just didn’t like any of them.  Lately they are hit and miss because I am trying to get used to my husband’s camera.  Mine, although it was just a simple point and shoot, I miss because I knew HOW to take good pictures with it.  I had to stop using mine because after too many trips to the beach, it started to get spots behind the lens and they had begun to show up in pictures.  I have no idea how to take pictures with his camera and I am in the middle of trying to figure it out.  Plus, good light has been hard to come by lately.  Bear with me people…

Before baking and after baking...

Before baking and after baking…

Back to the bars, I couldn’t find lavender and I had bought strawberries with my weekly groceries without a specific purpose in mind for them and that never happens.  So I was like well, I have something extra lying around that I could use in this recipe.  The strawberry added a nice sweet element to the bar.  I do wish I had found some lavender to try it Joy’s way, though.  That’s what happens till you wait till the last minute to make your recipe.  All I did to change the recipe was to omit the lavender in the crust and used 1/4 cup strawberry puree and 1/4 cup lemon juice for the 1/2 cup lemon juice.  Then I diced up about 4 or 5 strawberries and sprinkled them onto the filling before I baked it.  With the powdered sugar on top, it was like a pink lemonade bar.  If you’d like the recipe, be sure to buy Joy’s cookbook.  Don’t forget to check out other adaptations over at Bakeaholic Mama.

My GeekyLink seems so super awesome I almost didn’t want to tell you for fear you would take my spot, because this is happening: Wanted: Mars Colonists to Explore Red Planet.  Except that if you keep reading you learn the selection process is going to be a REALITY show!  What a great way to make something wonderful and pure and almost magical (y’know except for all the science) into something gross.  I don’t like this AT ALL.  In other bittersweet news we have Fringe.  Next Friday, Fringe will air their last two episodes back to back.  While I am super bummed that Fringe is ending, they prepared us fans well in advance so I shouldn’t despair too much once it is over.  Let’s also not forget that the Science Channel is still airing old episodes.  What got me excited, though, for the last two episodes is that we get to see the crew from the redverse in the finale.  I totally shrieked when I saw Fauxlivia and Lincoln!

Strawberry Lemon Bars2-NerdyBaker.wordpress.com

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

4 responses »

  1. the berries are totally a good more! ps. Fringe. sigh….

    Reply
  2. LOOOOOOOOOOOVE that you put berries in them. Genius.

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

