RSS Feed

Sundays with Joy/Toasted Coconut Dutch Baby with Banana and Pineapple

Posted on

Toasted Coconut Dutch Baby with Banana and Pineapple-nerdybaker.wordpress.comI made this WAY earlier in the week because I wanted this post to be on time but Friday I was writing an igamemom post, Saturday I was baking for my niece’s birthday, and Sunday was her party.  So…the post comes today.

That's 1/4 cup of butter we bake this in folks!

That’s 1/4 cup of butter we bake this in folks!

Anyways, this dutch baby was a LOVELY way to start the week.  It was one of the mornings that my baby had preschool.  I came right home and whipped this up.  The great thing about being alone to make something is well, for it being my first time making one, it took me no time at all.  I took uninterrupted pictures (well kinda, at that point it was getting close to pick up time so I had to speed it up).  But the worst thing, I was the only one home to eat it.  I usually make the kids wait to eat my stuff till after I take pictures but no one was home so I got to eat a piece first!  Plus, obviously, warmer is better.  My son did have a piece when he got home, though.

I used unsweetened coconut just because that is what I had on hand and aside from that I didn’t change a darn thing.  It looks like a complicated food but it was really quite simple.  I totally went with the whole wheat flour just like Joy said and I was not disappointed.  It went very well with the browned coconut.  I already have a variation I might want to try.  We’ll see.  I did try to make something for you this week and it didn’t go so well.  Out of the oven perfect but overnight, not so much, and it was supposed to be a snack that lasts a few days.  Back to the drawing board for that one…

Yum!

Yum!

Anyways to see other variations on this check out Ellen at Indigo Scones.  She has some great pictures of her dutch baby all puffed up.  I can’t believe I didn’t think to take pictures at that point!  It looks pretty cool.  Also if you’d like to try this buy Joy’s cookbook!

My GeekyLinks for today were this app I just bought and something a friend wrote.  The story of this app is that it helped a documentary filmmaker finish his movie.  It makes video look like it was filmed with actual film from like 20 years ago.  I have big plans for this one during the summer when the kids are playing in the yard.  The best thing about it is that you can mute the sound of whatever it is your taping which helps make your film believable as something from a bygone era.  I tried it with the kids talking but it was kinda weird.  My other link is for those of you that remember the episode of Star Trek: The Next Generation where people that were frozen and sent to space were picked up and “thawed” by the Enterprise.  First off, you’re awesome and you might want to read Waking Up in the Future.

A lovely (yet lonely) brunch if I do say so myself.

A lovely (yet lonely) brunch if I do say so myself.

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

6 responses »

  1. Looks awesome, Celina! And I’m glad someone appreciate my quick camera action to capture that puffy pancake 🙂

    Reply
  2. Angela Weyenberg

    By the way…I forgot to write on my previous response, that I am preparing your apple fritter cake tonight….yummo! Can’t wait to try it…my jeans are just dying to go up another size. Weeeeee!

    Reply
  3. Angela Weyenberg

    Omg…this looks awesome! The combination of ingredients sound wonderful! I’m looking for an outstanding recipe for cinnamon rolls….you seem to be a very reliable source for such a request. Can you hook a sister up? 🙂

    Reply
    • Well if you like cream cheese I recommend Shutterbean’s Cream Cheese Cinnamon Rolls. I haven’t found a plain one that was as easy or relatively foolproof as those and really good to boot (and I’m not the biggest cream cheese fan). There is also Joy the Baker’s Cinnamon Sugar Pull-Apart Bread that I haven’t tried yet but looks AMAZING. I’m sure you could pour a glaze over it. I am unfortunately still searching for an amazing plain cinnamon roll recipe that doesn’t make millions and is relatively simple.

      Reply
      • Angela Weyenberg

        Thanks!! You really need to take this one on. I could see you becoming the next great cinnamon roll guru!! Cheers!

        Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

