RSS Feed

Coconut Cream Pie with Chocolate for Pi Day

Posted on

Coconut Cream Pie with Chocolate-nerdybaker.wordpress.com

Grr…this pie.  I have been working on it all week.  I tried to make a pie crust with coconut oil but it didn’t quite work out for me and the first filling I tried didn’t work out either.  I don’t know why, but I was obsessed with using a pastry crust for this pie as opposed to a crumb one which lots of cream pies have.  I just wasn’t feeling it.  Well, I should have been because after my first attempt failed as did the filling I should have known it wasn’t going to work out easily for me.  I then made a double crust recipe so I’d have one to save in the freezer and ended up having to use both because I forgot to prick the bottom of the first and then I go and over bake the second.  So right off I am going to say, just use your favorite pie crust recipe or buy one.  Don’t stress, the best part is to come.

See? I told ya, burnt. Still yummy, though.

See? I told ya, burnt. Still yummy, though.

I figured out a nice way to sweeten unsweetened coconut so that was a nice bonus.  Also, this pastry cream I have used before but haven’t had the opportunity to share the recipe so that is a plus.  I do think a good chocolate cream would be nice in this pie too.  I made a variation of the coconut dip that I made for my son’s birthday party for the whipped cream topping.  Top with more chocolate and toasted coconut flakes and you have an amazing coconut cream pie with chocolate throughout (Did I forget to mention the ganache on the bottom?).  Burnt crust or not, this pie is the best thing I have made in AGES!

My GeekyLink for today is the tie in book from Fringe, September’s Notebook!  It comes out next week, I can’t wait!  Also, you may not hear from me till next Sundays With Joy because I have some TARDIS pillows to make (housewarming gifts, one for a couple already moved and one moving soon) and I have to sew new curtains for my daughter.  It turns out when I did it before (like 4 years ago) I did it upside down and there were peace signs in the fabric to prove it.  So I bought her what looks like a night sky so I can sew it upside down all I want.  I’ll show you when I’m done with both.

Coconut Cream Pie with Chocolate1

Coconut Cream Pie with Chocolate

adapted from Lick My Spoon

Ingredients

8″ or 9″ of your favorite ready to to be filled pie crust

Filling

1 vanilla bean, split

1 2/3 cups whole milk

1/4 cup plus 3 tablespoons sugar

3 tablespoons cornstarch

1 egg

2 egg yolks

2 tablespoons unsalted butter

1 cup sweetened coconut

1/3 of the coconut whipped cream topping (below)

Ganache

1 cup bittersweet chocolate chips

2/3 cup heavy cream

Coconut Whipped Cream Topping

1 cup heavy cream

2 tablespoons sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 (15 oz. can) Cream of Coconut (Not coconut milk. Find this in the aisle with the margarita mix & other mixers or sometimes in the ethnic aisle.)

1 tablespoon cream cheese (softened)

toasted coconut for garnish (optional)

Method

Filling

Scrape your vanilla beans out of the pod and place both in a medium saucepan and combine with the milk, and 1/4 cup sugar.  Bring it to a simmer slowly over medium heat.

In a small bowl, whisk the remaining 3 tablespoons of sugar with the cornstarch and set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk together the whole egg and egg yolks and set aside.

Once the milk mixture comes to a simmer, take out the vanilla pod.

Add the cornstarch mixture to the eggs and whisk until well combined.  While whisking, slowly pour about 1/4 of the milk to temper the egg mixture.  Keep whisking.  Transfer this mixture back into the milk mixture in the saucepan and keep whisking.  Set the saucepan over low heat and simmer, whisking constantly until it reaches the consistency of thick pudding.  As long as you keep whisking, your eggs shouldn’t curdle.

Remove from the heat and stir in your butter until incorporated.  Pour into a shallow bowl and place plastic wrap directly on the surface of the custard and chill for at least 30 minutes.  Mix in 1 cup of shredded coconut and chill (again with plastic wrap directly on the surface) until ready to use.  When ready to assemble the pie, fold in 1/3 of the Coconut Whipped Topping.

Ganache

Pour bittersweet chocolate chips and cream into a microwaveable safe bowl.  Microwave on medium (50%) power 2 to 3 minutes or until chocolate begins to melt.  Then whisk until the chocolate is completely melted and the mixture is smooth. Whisk in the butter until the butter is completely incorporated.  Let cool to room temperature about 15-20 minutes before using.  Use about 2/3 of your ganache in your pie and reserve the rest for garnish.

Coconut Whipped Cream Topping

With a cold bowl and a cold whisk beat cream, sugar, and vanilla with your mixer until stiff peaks form.  Cover your bowl with plastic wrap and chill until ready to use.

In a stand mixer with the paddle attachment, whip the cream cheese with the cream of coconut in a stand mixer until all lumps are gone.  Fold in all of the whipped cream.  Cover and set aside until ready to assemble pie.

Assembly

Pour 2/3 of the ganache into your pie crust and spread a bit with a spatula as needed.  Place into the fridge to set for a least 15 minutes.

In the meantime, fold 1/3 of the Coconut Whipped Cream Topping into the chilled pastry cream and your filling is done.  Cover till needed.

When the ganache has set, pour the filling into the pie and spread as necessary.  Then spread the remainder of the Coconut Whipped Cream Topping on the top of your pie.

Garnish with the remainder of the ganache and toasted coconut if desired.

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

3 responses »

  1. This looks like a really great recipe! delicious!

    Reply
  2. Oh yum, your pie sounds so delicious!

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

