RSS Feed

Tardis Cupcakes

Posted on

TardisCupcakes

I love when people decorate things in the most precious ways.  Most of the time, I can’t do the same.  I just have a different skill set and I know my limits.  Also, I prefer not to use certain ingredients to make my stuff.  I am not a snob, I just don’t want to learn how to work with fondant if I don’t want to eat it.  So most of the time I am just looking to find a way to make something look cool, taste great, using things I (mostly) know how to do.

A really lovely batter, easily scoopable.

A really lovely batter, easily scoopable.

I have been wanting to make a Tardis cupcake for awhile now but was stuck as to how I wanted to do it till Gallifrey One this year.  I definitely took inspiration from the Tardispod ladies and their wonderful creations.  I was sitting down writing my Gally posts when I took pen to paper and drew what I bring you today.  My only qualm was that I wish I had dyed the top of my Tardis a darker blue.  Also, I thought I had big pearl sprinkles for my Tardis light.  I mean I had like three opportunities to buy them and I didn’t.  So when it came to decorating, I used Marshmallow Bits that I had in my pantry for the job.  The shape was better anyway but the pearl sprinkles would have been shinier.

So really, all I wanted was to bring you an idea of something you could do.  I don’t have a recipe from me to give you but the here is the Blue Velvet Cupcakes recipe I used.  Also, if you’d prefer not to make it from scratch Betty Crocker has a recipe as well.  I worked on a new buttercream that I really liked but I want to use it again before I share it so for right now just use your favorite buttercream.  I used black gel I had lying around for the “windows” or you could use melted chocolate for them as well.

It's bluer on the inside!

It’s bluer on the inside!

I gotta run.  Holidays are hectic around here (Doctor Who holidays as well as traditional ones) and I have lots to do (I’m gonna be introducing the family to my Apple Fritter Cake on Sunday)!  Your GeekyLink is the Nerdist Podcast‘s latest offering, Doctor Who’s Jenna-Louise Coleman!  I almost started listening to it as I began writing this but decided I’d wait till I could listen to it in the car with my daughter who I know will get a kick out of it.  Oh, and yeah, Doctor Who comes back on Saturday!

TardisCupcakes3

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

18 responses »

  1. Pingback: TGON Bakes: Tardis Cupcakes | The Game of Nerds

  2. Pingback: Doctor Who Food & Recipes - Comic Con Family

  3. Pingback: My Favorite Party Buttercream | * NerdyBaker *

  4. You are… my biggest fan.

    Wait. Strike that. Reverse it.

    Reply
  5. Love these! I am in awe of you bakers, you are magicians and scientists, and sometimes artists too! Muffins are hit or miss for me 🙂 I have a lunch blog, and have done a special post for Fish Fingers & Custard Day, with a link up for any and all Doctor Who fans to add their relevant posts, would love for you to join in the edible geekery fun!

    Reply
  6. So pretty and beautifully decorated!! Enjoy Dr. Who on Sunday with a Tardis cupcake.

    Reply
  7. Oh my gah! I love these!

    I’m not much of a decorator, so I love how subtle but undeniable the decoration is. There is much squee-ing in front of my computer at the moment.

    Reply
  8. These are FANTASTIC!! I love what you’ve done with them! 🙂

    Reply
  9. I saw these on Twitter/Tumblr/here – can’t wait to make them for my Dr. Who loving daughter!

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

