RSS Feed

Sundays with Joy/Mini Chamomile Cakes with Honey Frosting

Posted on

ChamomileCupcakes2-NerdyBaker.wordpress.com

These cupcakes were, as most things Joy makes are, quite lovely. Just the cutest, prettiest cakes packed with flavor and yet so dainty. I took care of that whole dainty thing with the way I ate them. They had to be unwrapped at least halfway and bitten into such that I got a mouthful of cake and icing. That method ensured that the cupcake was gone in about three bites and virtually inhaled, VERY daintily of course.

I took so long to get these to you because I ended up making them twice. I baked this weekend for a family party on Sunday. I made these right after I baked for the party on Saturday. Then when I came back to these on Monday to frost them, they just kinda looked sad. I hadn’t covered them or anything so it was just as well. So I remade them fully knowing it was gonna take me awhile longer to get them to you, but who wants to see sad cupcakes?

ChamomileCupcakes1--NerdyBaker.wordpress.com

I was a big fan of this frosting in particular. You can taste the honey but it was not too much. Also, when I remade these I used two tablespoons less sugar in the cake batter. It just seemed the right adjustment after seeing how the first batch came out. Another thing about this post is that it finally features more pics with my husband’s camera (that I’ve been trying to learn) as opposed to my iPhone (that I’ve had to resort to). I was really pleased with them. They’re not perfect yet but at least it’s a start. Don’t forget, if you’re interested in the recipe buy Joy’s cookbook and check out the rest of our group’s efforts over at Bakeaholic Mama. Oh yeah, I forgot to mention, our little group is one year old this week!

So many GeekyLinks lately that I had to pick and choose. The first mixes Doctor Who and musicals, “Doctor Who” Star Arthur Darvil Will Make Music in Broadway’s Once. I am a super huge fan of that movie. Its such a romantic story, and with one of my TV crushes in it?! However, it’s on the wrong coast for me. I hope I can somehow get a glimpse or two of him in the show. OK, wanna know what happens when you wring out a wet cloth in space? I had a good guess, I thought, but I was totally wrong and it is totally cool.

ChamomileCupckakes --NerdyBaker.wordpress.com

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

One response »

  1. I saw these in Joy’s book and was intrigued, but a bit intimidated. I’m so happy to see someone made them and they turned out. I’m definitely going to have to give them a try now!! The frosting looks divine!!

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

