RSS Feed

Sundays with Joy/Grapefruit Soufflé Pudding

Posted on

Grapefruit Souffle Pudding via NerdyBaker.wordpress.com

I didn’t get to this Sundays with Joy till Monday.  We went to a wedding on Friday night, hung out with family on Saturday, and generally had a lazy day on Sunday because well, I totally believe in lazy days.  But first thing after I dropped off my son at school Monday morning, I went to work on this.

Grapefruit Souffle Pudding via NerdyBaker.wordpress.com

I don’t know why I’m surprised.  Every time I think Joy may have gone over the edge (see Orange Gingerbread Squares) she gives me the most pleasant surprises.  I really wasn’t looking forward to this recipe.  It just didn’t appeal to me and I couldn’t imagine what its texture would be or at all what it would taste like.  I just went and set about making it.  Don’t let the name fool you, overall it was pretty simple.  My favorite part though was making the grapefruit sugar that goes into this batter.  It just smells fantastic and you find yourself mixing in the zest with your nose in the bowl.  Inhale.

Grapefruit Sugar

First of all, Joy says this is fancy and she’s right.  Although, she pictures a lamb dinner and I am moving more towards a dessert for a fancy tea.  Then, she says you can enjoy it warm or cold.  Here again, I think she is smoking something.  I am already unsure about this “soufflé pudding” anyway, why would I want to try it warm?  I do, however, tend to listen to Joy when she tells me to try something even if I don’t wanna.  Of course, she was totally right.  I would actually recommend eating this warm.  It’s by no means bad when cold but it’s just heaven warm.  It is warm, sunny, light, sweet…perfect.  I can’t describe it any better.  It is important to note that it is best the day it is made and that is the only bummer here.  So just make sure you have people to share it with when you make it.

Grapefruit Souffle Pudding2 via NerdyBaker.wordpress.com

This week, Ellen over at Indigo Scones is hosting our link up.  Check it out if you are curious as to what the others in our group have tried.  I know a few have mixed in some other flavors.  Don’t forget, if you’d like the recipe please buy the Joy the Baker Cookbook.

My GeekyLink for today is Star Trek: The Middle School Musical.  It is short, funny,  sweet and filled the Star Trek void a bit as I have yet to see Star Trek Into Darkness.

Grapefruit Souffle Pudding1 via NerdyBaker.wordpress.com

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Sundays with Joy/Chocolate Peanut Butter Ball Cookies | * NerdyBaker *

  2. Lovely pudding, using grapefruit sounds delicious!

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

