RSS Feed

Podcasts, I Am Addicted

Posted on

Podcasts via NerdyBaker.wordpress.comMy “life” outside of baking stuff, blogging stuff, and kid stuff mostly comprises of me cleaning/organizing the stuff of five people. When I can find time to do it, and can really get focused and do it well, I am listening to podcasts at the same time. I am addicted.

It started with  Joy the Baker Podcast.

And quickly spread to Kevin Smith, which means most of the SModcast Network. I subscribe to Smodcast, Hollywood Babylon, Last Week on Earth with Ben Gleib, Plus One, Smorning Show, Smoviemakers, and FEaB (also from Nerdist). If I have extra time, I’ll listen to a Jay & Silent Bob Get Old. There are way more…

The frickin Nerdist and that whole thing. “That whole thing” being that whole YouTube channel & Chris Hardwick empire but I just subscribe to the Nerdist podcast and You Made It Weird With Pete Holmes from them.

My beloved and so ENTIRELY missed The Fringe Podcast. There was a Fringe Marathon a couple weekends ago and I was SO tempted to go back and revisit some episodes. That day will come soon enough.  Thankfully the dynamic duo of Clint and Darrell will be back soon with an Almost Human podcast.  The show is untested but I will watch and listen because the Golden Spiral Media community is THE BEST!

Doug Loves Movies can make me laugh at loud…or get really annoyed at Pete Holmes who is way more calm on his own podcast and it helps me keep my movie trivia skills sharp.  

The guys at Bald Move. Then they got their network. For me, it began with Breaking Good, the Mad Men Happy Hour Podcast, Watching Dead, the now defunct Justified podcast that ended up becoming the TV Podcast which kinda just ended up a Justified podcast (long story). Then they got some affiliates and I am currently obsessed with Up Yours Downstairs, a Downton Abbey podcast currently covering Mr. Selfridge during the break, and The Because Show, just some awesome, honest, NSFW ladies from So Cal.  

IMG_2884For my Doctor Who fix, I like to listen to Traveling the Vortex.   I had to find a new one because I realized I hated the one I was listening to so I began listening to Keith, Glenn and Shaun. I like them because the vibe of the hosts and listeners reminds me of the Fringe Podcast community. I listen to new episodes dealing with the current series first and am slowly going back and listening to them all in order.

Filmspotting for movies I can’t get to yet. SVU (Streaming Video Unit) for things I can.  Also, don’t tell my friend Jennifer but these two podcasts are what help me continue to beat her picks during our Oscar party without me seeing all of the movies.  SHH!

Some others I’ve had to unsubscribe to (or I would go crazy trying to catch up) but have gone back for specific guests and what not. Some I have listened to only once or twice maybe for a crossover episode or something. Yes people, crossover episodes!

I have learned to skip when I get too far behind but a big baking or chore weekend helps me get caught up. I am also at that point where if I add another, one has to go.

I DO love them though. Absorbing information/entertainment while doing repetitive mindless tasks means I can totally do two things at once!  Kinda.

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

Let me know your thoughts...

